Bev's Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
Wow! This recipe sounded good but I didn't realize what an impact it would make at dinner time. I've known my husband for close to 15 years and have been cooking chicken for him about as long. He said this was the best chicken I've ever made! I did tweak the recipe by adding a tablespoon of sugar during cooking, and then adding a 1/2 tablespoon cornstarch mixed in a little soy sauce at the end to thicken the sauce a bit. Yummy! I will certainly make this for guests sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
408 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
We really really liked this alot.. I made a couple changes..I added just a pinch of ground ginger.. after I mixed all the ingredients I threw them all in a Ziploc bag along with some fresh sliced mushrooms and some chopped green onions..I let everything marinate for about 30 minutes in the fridge before I cooked it.. I used boneless,skinless chicken thighs so it only took about 45 minutes to cook.. My husband isnt a big rice fan so I just served it over some green beans and a nice salad.. I think the mushrooms and the onions made all the difference.. Kiki (Brampton,ON Canada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I read other reviews & therefore made adjustments to enhance the flavor of this. I added a little lemon juice to the sauce, and then marinated boneless breasts in it for a half hour before baking. I baked for 45 minutes and that was plenty of time. I put the chicken on a rack in the pan & basted frequently. By then end the rest of the sauce cooks away and would make a mess on the pan if it isn't non-stick. The chicken comes out quite good, nice for those who like orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
This is very tasty and flavorful. The sauce is so goopd I would double if you want to serve over rice because there isn't much left after cooking. Pork cops would be a great meat to try cooking this way. I have tried both thighs and breast and they were great. I liked the breast this way because I always find them dry in some recipes. Bernie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
The finished product was just alright - there wasn't a strong orange flavor and the onion soup made it too salty, overtaking the orange. I probably won't try this again but if I did, I wouldn't use the onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gymlovr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This is my kind of recipe. Nice and simple, yet really tasty. My husband and I loved it. We doubled the orange juice and the soy sauce. Thanks for a great recipe for a family on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Very tasty; not bland at all or too salty. Didn't taste like orange, but the OJ (I used fresh-squeezed) made the sauce sweet. I used 3 teaspoons minced garlic and didn't add extra sugar or cornstarch; the sauce was thick already and almost boiled down to the bottom except I added water halfway through roasting. I marinated for 1hr 15min beforehand, and used Lipton's Golden Onion soup mix (1 packet is 1.3oz, which might be why the sauce was so thick.) I also added 3 chopped green onions. Overall, a hit: will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
wonderful. I used ginger root and garlic clove crushed and marinaded it for several hours. at the last I splashed about 2 tblsp sherry into the gravy. thigh meat works best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This recipe was fantastic!! The only change I made was to add an additional tbls. soy sauce. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
Made this for my family and served it over rice - they loved it! Very, very quick prep time. After the thighs were done cooking, I thickened the sauce with flour and served it with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States