Bev's Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This was not good at all. The chicken was just bland and didn't have sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbarwick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
My family of four had this for dinner tonight and we all enjoyed it. I made a few changes after reading the reviews . I added a little more soy sauce (1/2 tbsp more), fresh garlic and fresh ginger. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Yes ! My son(11years old) loved it! I did add some stuff. Crushed garlic, 1 orange in ringlets and chili flakes. It's going to be a repeat in my family!!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA691

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
After reading many reviews, here are the changes I made to the recipe. First, I made sure to trim as much excess skin from the thighs but leaving enough to cover the meat. Second, I mixed 1 and half cups of OJ, 2 tbsp of soy sauce, 1/2 tsp of ground ginger and 3 smashed cloves of garlic in a measuring cup. I poured mixture over the thighs in a 9x13 glass dish and marinated for 3 hours. Baked chicken as directed. It turned out terrific. The skin was crispy, the meat was tender and flavorful. There was enough marinade to use for spooning over rice, if desired. My husband and I really enjoy the outcome. The recipe is a good basic recipe that's easily adjusted for personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This was quite tasty. The only thing I did different is that I doubled the orange juice and soy sauce. Don't double the soup mix, too salty. I used a low sodium soy sauce too. It made a lot of liquid at first but it really cooked down into a flavorful sauce. I kept drizzling the juice over the top of the thighs every 30 minutes or so. The whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
This was just ok.i marinated the chicken over night but I didnt't get much orange flavour.my 3yr old called for seconds so will try it again but with sone changes.good to try something different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
What a great, tasty, and quick find! I had all of the ingredients in the fridge, so I decided to try it! I plan on keeping this recipe close at hand. Way to go, Bev!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattypiecake
Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
great easy recipe. I pan seared the chicken first (we like a crispy skin)used salt/pepper/garlic powder/ground ginger on the skin. used fresh orange zest set aside and put on the chicken after I seared it. cut the orange into slices and placed those in the baking dish placed chicken on top added mushrooms 2 cups orange juice and 2 tblsp soy sauce. after it was cooked removed the chicken and added some corn starch to thicken the sauce. served with rice super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
TASTY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Made this tonight with bone-in, skin on, chicken thighs. Didn't change anything about recipe. Not impressed. Just not what I expected. I thought it had a weird smell. I did not like the taste of the chicken skin, and I normally love chicken skin...think it's the best part! Not this time. This dish was also very greasy with the thighs. Was looking forward to this but, oh well, won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States