Bev's Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Very tasty...I just used a small onion grated in a cheese grater instead of onion soup mix. then added a little salt to my own taste. Over all a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I made this with chicken breast and did not like it at all. It was edible, but I won't recommend or make it again. I even followed some tips from other reviews and seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper and a pinch of ginger. It was moist and flavorfull, I just did not like the flavor or the texture of the chicken. The only way I see this being a successful recipe is if it was made with dark meat which was marinated in the sauce overnight and then browned in a pan on stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I really thought this was going to be a great recipe. It was so-so. Sauce was way to thin, even after adding corn starch, and there was hardly any orange flavor. Was better after some red pepper flakes, but I'm still not sure if I will make it again. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
So glad I tried this recipe. I doubled the orange juice and added some cornstarch to thicken gravy when I took out of the oven. Served over white rice. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I think my fiance and I might be the only one's who weren't wowed by this recipe but to us there was something "off" about it. On the chicken, the sauce was pretty good, but when we poured it over our rice and broccoli, it just didn't taste right at all. I think the onion soup mix really overpowered the other flavors in the sauce, even when I added more orange than the recipe called for. My fiance and I both agreed that this was just okay, but probably not something we'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was excellent! I didn't use the onion soup mix because I was out, and I didn't notice a really orange-y taste, but it was nice. I added some cornstarch to the orange juice and soy sauce to make a gravy and served it over the chicken and garlic mashed potatoes. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I was in need of a good quick recipe for dinner and tried this out. I was skeptical once I added the onion soup mix because the onion smelled like it was overpowering the orange. I cooked the chicken turning it every 30 minutes as the recipe directed. while the recipe was good, it wasn't AWESOME! I don't think I'll be using this recipe again anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I had high hopes for this .... but it came out nothing more than just plain orange marmalade and onions on gourmet boneless, skinless chicken thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
O.k. Talk about EXCELLENT!! This was some of the best chicken I have ever had, or made for that matter! I followed the recipe with the following modifications: 1) Used 3 lbs of wing portions as I wanted to make sure I would like the taste first (next time I'll do drumsticks & Thighs); 2) I used 2.5 cups of OJ and 2 packets of soy sauce (from the Chinese restaurant). I also seasoned the season on both sides with garlic powder and black pepper. As far as cooking directions, I cooked uncovered at 350 degrees F for 45 minutes, then turned chicken turned chicken ever 20 minutes thereafter until tender or sauce thickened. WILL DEFINITELY BE MAKING THESE AGAIN. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Very easy to make and tast good. I ate some chicken too soon. The sauce wasn't that thick at that time. I realized that the sauce would get thick if you cook for what the recipe says. The chicken tasted better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States