Bev's Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
great easy recipe. I pan seared the chicken first (we like a crispy skin)used salt/pepper/garlic powder/ground ginger on the skin. used fresh orange zest set aside and put on the chicken after I seared it. cut the orange into slices and placed those in the baking dish placed chicken on top added mushrooms 2 cups orange juice and 2 tblsp soy sauce. after it was cooked removed the chicken and added some corn starch to thicken the sauce. served with rice super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
TASTY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Made this tonight with bone-in, skin on, chicken thighs. Didn't change anything about recipe. Not impressed. Just not what I expected. I thought it had a weird smell. I did not like the taste of the chicken skin, and I normally love chicken skin...think it's the best part! Not this time. This dish was also very greasy with the thighs. Was looking forward to this but, oh well, won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
i thought it was pretty good i do think next time i'll use chicken breast instead .i did make a few changes first off i used a zest of one orange and the juice also mixed with store bought also instead of garlic powder i used 1 clove of garlic .a pinch a ground ginger and extra soy .i marinated the chicken for a few hours .i made a glaze with leftover sauce i had with cornstarch and sweetened with brown sugar .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlena Carpenter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I give this a 5 star...it was a total hit at my house...my husband loved it so much that he got up for a 3rd round...I followed some of the other reviews and added some sliced onions, 1T. chopped garlic and just went by eye with orange zest, freshly squeezed orange juice, soy sauce....although I only added a tad bit of the onion soup so it wouldn't be saltly. Marinated chicken for about an hour and when arranged in dish I drizzled some lemon juice. This was an awesome recipe served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This dish is amazing! I marinated it for 5 hours and the chicken was so tender and flavourful! My husband loved it and he loves to eat!! Farm boy you know...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This had an ok flavor. Not much orange flavor to it when following recipe as is. Tender, but that may have just been the fact that it was thighs instead of my usual breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This is a great dish - a different take on chicken. Reading reviews I made a few adjustments – I used one tablespoon of the onion soup mix, doubled the rest of the ingredients – cooked it the first time with chicken thighs, for myself . . . (husband doesn’t do chicken thighs!). Then took the chicken out - with the liquid - following one of the reviewer’s advice – used a cornstarch slurry to thicken the sauce – that made the sauce ‘stick’ so to speak. Very tasty. I am actually making the same dish tonight with chicken breasts (my husband likes) for our dinner tonight! I did everything about the same – added about a teaspoon of honey this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I follwed this recipe as written. It's okay, but nothing special! Too many five-star recipes to try here on AllRecipes, so I won't do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
The chicken came out moist but I let it marinate for 30 mins. The onion over powered the orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Braised Orange Chicken

See how to make a simple orange sauce with chicken thighs.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States