Bev's Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Very good! A keeper! Chicken thighs are not my favorite type of meat. This recipes is PERFECT for them! I did make a few minor changes. First, I used an electric skillet instead of baking in oven. It took about an hour. Next, I doubled the orange juice; kept the soy sauce as written. I used mushroom-onion soup mix-about a tablespoon. I sprinkled a generous amount of orange peel (spice-not fresh). About every 15 min. I turned the chicken. When done, I added about a tablespoon of corn strach and some more oj and made a sauce. My fairly picky 11 year old and 3 year old ate it up. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This is excellent. I was surprised that the chicken didn't taste real orange. Made a great chicken salad with left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
For the tastiness of this dish it is so easy! I always use boneless chick breasts, basting every 15 min. for 1 hour. This is great served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This is an absolutely amazing dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Tasty and easy to make. Recommended adding a little extra orange juice to make the sauce even orangier. Also, agree with the reviews to cook boneless chicken for only 45 minutes instead of the hour the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I prepared this the other day and could not quit eating it! It turns out to be a juicy chicken entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spangler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Easy and delicious! I added some mushrooms in but aside from that didn't modify the recipe at all. Will definately add to my recipe book. Thanks Bev!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
For quick, easy, flavorful chicken, this is very good. I agree with others that the onion soup mix is strong and salty. There are many reviews here that suggest ways around this. Next time, I will leave the soup mix out and add 1-2 chopped onions. Some orange zest would pump up the orange flavor. This dish wants rice on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This is a keeper! After reading a few reviews, I decided to double the sauce but only use 1 soup envelope and thicken sauce at end with corn starch. I also kicked up the orange flavor with adding the zest of an orange. Sooooo yummy. Next time I'll have more chicken........lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lutz, Florida, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I think the onion soup threw this all off. I found myself scraping the onion off because it was extremely strong and salty tasting. The chicken does come out moist though. Maybe if I try again, I'll only put half the packet of onion soup mix in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Braised Orange Chicken

See how to make a simple orange sauce with chicken thighs.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States