Bev's Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was not orange chicken the way I'm used to it or expected it, but it was a good chicken dish. I would recommend it if you want to try something new, but I don't think its going to replace your favorite chicken recipe. But for a change and something a little different, its worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Not much orange flavor, nothing like the orange chicken you would find at a chain restaurant. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This is a great recipe! I followed the recipe to the letter (changing thighs to breasts) and my family loved it! I have made it a second time (at my husband's request :) and the second time I doubles the "sauce" ingredient amounts so there would be extra for the pasta. Thanks for something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EricaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rantoul, Illinois, USA
Living In: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I followed the advice of others using OJ concentrate rather than regular OJ and since so many commented that it was too salty, I used low sodium soy sauce and only half of a packet of the onion soup mix. I baked the boneless thighs for 45 minutes without the sauce then I drained the liquid in the pan. I then topped the chicken with the orange sauce and continued baking for another 15 minutes. By draining all of that liquid that comes off the chicken thighs, the sauce was thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Absolutely loved this recipe. Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I did cut back on the onion soup mix because my roommate and I are trying to be frugal with the sodium lately. It tasted lovely. We used the marinade with boneless chicken breast. It had a distinct orange flavor, it was plenty sweet, no sugar needed. The soy sauce and onion soup mix did not over power it. I was very pleased. The only problem was that the sauce did not thicken up because I had to keep the chicken covered to keep it moist. It also only had to cook for 40 minutes. I didn't have any thickeners on hand at her house so I was limited in what I could do. Despite that the flavor transferred well. We were both pleased. I will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was good. Not amazingly good, but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This recipe was good. The kids liked it. I doubled the reciped for the sauce though so that they had extra to dip in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilpurpleflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Didn't get a lot of flavour from this. Added a little more soy and garlic which didn't seem to help. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This was easy to make and good! I used boneless thighs and they were sure tasty! Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Braised Orange Chicken

See how to make a simple orange sauce with chicken thighs.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States