Bev's Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Made as stated and chicken was moist. But whoa, it just tasted (and smelled) like onions -- none of the other flavored came through. I have to admit, I'm not a huge onion fan (although I love onion dip). I'll try it one more time and leave out the soup mix to see how it goes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiyomi Yim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
We loved this. Only minor changes. I doubled the juice as suggested and squeezed it myself. I used 2 tbsp minced garlic and doubled the soy sauce. Also I used McCormick orange peel to enhance the orange flavor and used a package of knor onion soup mix. Thinking of chopping an onion and throwing that in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Lynn Porter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Easy and delicious! Couldn't ask for more :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This was not good at all. The chicken was just bland and didn't have sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbarwick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
My family of four had this for dinner tonight and we all enjoyed it. I made a few changes after reading the reviews . I added a little more soy sauce (1/2 tbsp more), fresh garlic and fresh ginger. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Yes ! My son(11years old) loved it! I did add some stuff. Crushed garlic, 1 orange in ringlets and chili flakes. It's going to be a repeat in my family!!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA691

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
After reading many reviews, here are the changes I made to the recipe. First, I made sure to trim as much excess skin from the thighs but leaving enough to cover the meat. Second, I mixed 1 and half cups of OJ, 2 tbsp of soy sauce, 1/2 tsp of ground ginger and 3 smashed cloves of garlic in a measuring cup. I poured mixture over the thighs in a 9x13 glass dish and marinated for 3 hours. Baked chicken as directed. It turned out terrific. The skin was crispy, the meat was tender and flavorful. There was enough marinade to use for spooning over rice, if desired. My husband and I really enjoy the outcome. The recipe is a good basic recipe that's easily adjusted for personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Thoensen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This was quite tasty. The only thing I did different is that I doubled the orange juice and soy sauce. Don't double the soup mix, too salty. I used a low sodium soy sauce too. It made a lot of liquid at first but it really cooked down into a flavorful sauce. I kept drizzling the juice over the top of the thighs every 30 minutes or so. The whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Mott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
This was just ok.i marinated the chicken over night but I didnt't get much orange flavour.my 3yr old called for seconds so will try it again but with sone changes.good to try something different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
What a great, tasty, and quick find! I had all of the ingredients in the fridge, so I decided to try it! I plan on keeping this recipe close at hand. Way to go, Bev!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattypiecake
Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Braised Orange Chicken

See how to make a simple orange sauce with chicken thighs.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States