Bev's Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2004
this was very delicious, added a but more milk. I packed the cheese down when I was grating, so it came out more cheesier, also I would advise to wisk every 1 minute when in the micro, this makes it less lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Really yummy exept I omitted the butter and used 3/4 T of flour instead of 3 T and I added 2 slices of american cheese. I also wisked it on top of the stove instead of microwaving. It took about 15 minutes. It was smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
This is a staple in our home. Creamy sauce and easy to make! I add a little bit of onion and chopped ham.. I go lighter on the flour and use SHARP cheddar for best flavor (IMHO). Cooking time was about half in my microwave so be sure to watch it and BE SURE TO WHISK IT EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE, per the directions, or you will get lumpy goo. Good quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckymc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I usually follow Alton Brown's Stovetop Mac 'n Cheese recipe but didn't have evaporated milk, so I tried this one instead. It was really good and super easy! I did reduce the flour to 2 TBS (the basic rule for a sauce is 1 unit of thickening agent to 1 unit of fat) and that worked perfectly. I did double the recipe b/c when I measured out the pasta it didn't seem like enough. I ended up with enough pasta but a lot of cheese sauce leftover (about 3/4 cup). To make one recipe's worth, I'd probably use 1-1/4 cups of pasta. It makes a good base cheese sauce and would taste great with any mix of cheeses. Sorry Alton, but I think you've been replaced!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I really like the ratios used in this recipe, except for the flour. I use just a touch less and cook this on the stove instead of the microwave. Super creamy and cheesy, yum! I tried this recipe a second time using pepper jack (instead of cheddar) and adding corn, black beans, chopped grilled chicken, jalapenos and cilantro... to die for! Thanks : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
This recipe is quick, easy and tastes great. It is an excellent dish to attempt, if you are a novice in the kitchen! Using a microwave oven, to prepare the cheese sause, is a tremendous way to save time. (Remember, however, it is important to adjust microwave cooking times,in terms of the appliance model you are using. Otherwise, the cheese sause may be overcooked.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
Good recipe, especially when used as a starting point for your own tastes and ideas- I added more cheese, and some different kinds, for example. Also could use a little more salt. Overall- quick, easy, and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Very simple recipe to follow, although I modified at bit. Added 1/4 cup parm cheese which gave some extra flavor. Also, after I combined the macaroni with cheese sauce, I topped with some crushed ritz crackers and baked at 350 for additional 10-15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Everest63

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This is a great recipe! Ready in under 15 minutes and I'm sure healthier than a boxed kind. I didn't microwave again for 4-5 minutes because mine was already smooth and steaming hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
Great for a Mac and Cheese fix. And soooo fast. The recipe as is, is a little bland. I used American Cheese, garlic power, worcestershire sauce and mustard powder. It was a big hit with my boyfriend as a quick and easy lunch. I also served this with an organic turkey hot dog octopus. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States