Bev's Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
WOW! We are picky! Hubby and I just got back from vacation and he loved the chocolate pie at dinner one evening. I tried some recipes and they turned out with a brownie texture, tried others and they were basically perked up pudding...But this recipe was IT! (Even better than the restaurant's!!! I made a homemade crust, doubled the vanilla and instead of a 12 ounce can of evap milk, I used 10 ounces. --(2) 5 ounce cans, used granulated sugar which quickly dissolved. Not runny or grainy or lumpy. 170 pound hubby ate 1 1/4 pies in 24 hour time span! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Hubby and I agreed to give this two stars, only because it was a beautiful pie to LOOK at. Everything came together as it should and the cooking directions couldn't have been more accurate. Unfortunately, this pie is only worth the picture one could take of it. Weird texture, hard to describe, but somewhere between pudding and brownies and failing at both. While it looked like it would be chocolatey, it was not--in fact there was very little flavor at all, just simply like eating sugary mush. A major disappointment, as it looked so good we really were looking forward to our chocolate pie for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
In response to the posting before mine. You do use granulated sugar. Do not use confectionary/powdered sugar or it will be a mess. I think the mistake that user made was she didn’t cook the mixture enough or stir it enough while it heated. I used granulated sugar and I heated my mixture before adding the egg. It was very smooth. I did make the mistake of not letting my chocolate mixture cool enough before adding the eggs though. So make sure your mixture is cool enough to add the egg. I went ahead and baked my pies though. With the strands of cooked egg throughout my chocolate mixture, but it still came out perfect! It was not runny and very smooth, and no one noticed any egg. I couldn’t even find it myself. This is a very good chocolate pie. I will make it again =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I noticed a lot of readers were making a mistake with the recipe and they seem to be the ones giving this recipe a lower rating. If you read the instructions you see that you are NOT supposed to heat the mixture until after everything is all mixed together. Some were talking about hardened pieces of egg, etc. Do not add the eggs after heating. Mix it all before and heat it all at the same time. Then you will have this turn out as it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROYSAPER
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Perfect recipe that cannot fail if it is followed exactly as written. To avoid spilling the pie filling while carrying the filled pie plate to the overn, you can fill the pie plate after setting it in position on the oven rack. Also, watch the meringue careful as when it starts to turn golden it happens quickly. Mine baked perfectly and set at 40 minutes. Try this recipe. You can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
My family members are chocoholics - so I've made countless chocolate baked goods over the years. I found the chocolate filling bland and uneventful. I was looking for a rich, creamy chocolate filling. This missed the mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
I love this recipe! It is so easy to make and it always turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS TEMPEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Not Specified, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
sorry. I have bake this pie twice and both time was just awful. I don't think it was anything that I did wrong I feel like it is just a bad recipe,It like eating fudge that wouldn't set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I think our oven is a bit off because it took about twice as long as it should have for this pie to bake. When it finally came out of the oven and the meringue was done, it was delicious and recieved rave reviews. It's very rich and sweet; don't attempt unless you have 2-3 hours to kill, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I love this pie and so does my family. It is a Thanksgiving staple going on 4 years now. It is true - its not a brownie pie - its not a pudding pie; it is almost like chess, but different. Changes/Tips: 1. make sure you use granulated sugar not powdered 2. cut back the sugar to 1.5 cups 3. I have never done the heating part of it - I just throw it all in a blender and push blend - works perfectly each and every time 4. I have not tried the egg mixture for the topping - I prefer cool whip, but that is personal taste. I might try it this year. The cool whip is a little messier though 5. This is very rich - have coffee or milk on hand and ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States