Bev's Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Loved the recipe so did everyone that had some. It came out so pretty, yes its a very rich chocolate but if cooked just right its perfect. I also use grandulated sugar and put 1tsp of vanilla extract in the topping (it was by accident, i was not paying attention to the bowl i was using lol but it turned out great). Just used a store bought pie crust. I would like to try it with a pastry crust though. May not have as crunchy of a crust. Will make it again though. My hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I noticed a lot of readers were making a mistake with the recipe and they seem to be the ones giving this recipe a lower rating. If you read the instructions you see that you are NOT supposed to heat the mixture until after everything is all mixed together. Some were talking about hardened pieces of egg, etc. Do not add the eggs after heating. Mix it all before and heat it all at the same time. Then you will have this turn out as it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
this is THE BEST CHOCO PIE EVER! Seriously this pie is so good, real top shelf upper class type stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
i'm giving this 2 stars as i did sub splenda for sugar. but i make another choc pie and do it and it's great. i was so excited about making this one, but it was lousy. my husband wouldn't eat it, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Rich, decadent, delicious. Will make again!! Was excellent with an easy flaky crust recipe found on the site. Substituted the evaporated milk with half&half. Added cream of tartar to my meringue. And most excitingly used my own homemade vanilla extract and fresh farm eggs. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
It gets 3 stars because it's pretty and edible. But the taste is decent at best. It's too sweet and has a brownie-like texture. It may have been because all I had was self-rising flour and used 10oz of evaporated milk. Anyhow, I may try it again when I get the right kind of flour. Then we'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ivyshae

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Very good, I used a mixer for everything before putting it on the stove to heat. I had to cook for about 45 minutes plus about 6 for the meringue, so my frozen store-bought pie crust was overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This is honestly the BEST chocolate pie I have ever had. The reviews are spot on regarding the texture of the pie - between a brownie and normal pudding type pie. Amazing! Be sure to allow time for it to set after baking. We served pretty quickly after removing from the oven and it was very runny. Much better the next day after it had been in the frig and "set".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Not great - Not bad either. Just not worth the calories. My husband thought the same thing. It's a weird consistency - sort of like slimy brownies or lumpy pudding - anyway I won't be making this again. It is better after it has been refrigerated (improves the consistency a bit) - and instead of the meringue - add some ice cream on top. It makes it a lot tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stouffville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Absolutely perfect!!! Thank you for bringing this chocolate delight into our home!! Followed the directions and am very happy to say that it tastes like my grandmother's and my mother's pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States