Bev's Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
My family's favorite pie!!! It has been my go to dessert recipe for the last two years. I use Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust recipe and it has turned out perfect every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
It was really good! It was my first time making this recipe and I have to say it was quite time consuming but excellent! Instead of pie crust I opted for more of a cheesecake crust using crushed biscuits, butter and cocoa. I also couldn't find any evaporated milk so I used whipping cream instead (probably about 1 1/4 c). Other than that, I followed the recipe as shown and it was perfect. Maybe next time I'll go for more meringue though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
As described, the filling is not "runny" - it's disagreeable in texture, appearance and flavor. The only chocolate characteristic it possesses is in color. I'm not an amateur, nor particularly fussy, but this one needs to go back to the test kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
ok just made this loved the recipe but i did have to increase the cocoa powder i like it a bit more chocolatey also i cooked it on the stove top til it was bubbley and poured into a prebaked pie shell for the meringue i used 12 egg whites and 1 cup of sugar i like my meringue mounded up high!! but great base loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This pie is always a hit whenever I make it and its super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
all of my family member love it! but that was too sweet, so i reduce the sugar to 1 1/4 cup instead of 2 cup for the second time I made it. It was very great and tender :9 yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nawira habsyi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
this was the worst pie recipe I have ever made!!!Made it exactly like the directions said. Too thick, and way too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
It is a Dad and Husband approved recipe. It passed their taste test, so it's all good for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This was a winner with the hubs ~ he said it was the best pie he's ever eaten!(and he's a pie connoisseur-lol) Thank you for the recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fruitycakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylvester, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Filling tasted nothing like chocolate, just an overly sweet thick mass. Had to bake it for almost an hour. Not making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States