Bev's Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I am baking this pie at the moment. It says to bake for 35-40 minutes or until it doesn't "wobble". Well after 65 minutes it is still wobbling and still in the oven. Thinking this is a joke and is going to taste a little like burnt choc. Frustrating!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This is the best chocolate pie I've ever made. It doesn't run like alot of other recipes. Nice, hearty, rich chocolate flavor. The only one I use now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tweetys

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Petersburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I thought this pie was great. I have no idea why all the negative reviews. Do not bake this pie longer as directed. It may wiggle while still hot in the oven, but once it cools a bit, it's fine. Next time I make this pie, I plan to cut the sugar back to 1 1/2 cups. It was a bit sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This was too sweet for me. That could be my fault, though. I might try with a different cocoa powder next time. But, I could never get the middle to stop wiggling. I cooked and cooked and cooked....probably an extra 50 minutes. Also, ANY recipe calling for a Meringue topping should include an ALL CAPS WARNING which states: BE SURE NOT TO GET EVEN THE SLIGHTEST AMOUNT OF YOLK IN YOUR EGG WHITES.....the fat will cause you to have to beat your egg whites OVERNIGHT....and they STILL won't stiffin!!! (My attempt at humor here!) But seriously, I wish I would've known this little tidbit first. Would've saved my right arm from vibrating for 2 hours following this pie-making experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
THE TIME IS MESSED UP I MADE IT AND IT'S BEEN OVER AN HOUR AND IT'S STILL "WOBBLY". -.-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Wanted to make a chocolate pie for an upcoming potluck. I always test new things on my family and close friends first. This was aweful. Out of 7 people who tried it, no one like it. Tasted like cocoa powder and not the yummy creamy chocolate like I am used to in a good chocolate pie. Ended up finding a recipe that called for bakers chocolate and that was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Myriah Shumate Crimmins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Pie never quit being wobbly...caused us to absolutely over cook the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
made this wonderful recipe for company.... they LOVED it. if you see tiny bubbles of moisture on top of the meringue after you chill it, that is normal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I use this receipe EVERY holiday!! I make and give it as gifts and my entire family enjoys it so much!!! I use Nestle Tollhouse cocoa powder and it gives it a rich milk chocolate flavor..yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I love sweets, this was to sweet! to much suger. It was chocolate suger pie, I will try again with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMMIE6164

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States