Bev's Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I just made this and it's so delicious and wonderful! It's really easy too. I made my own meringue the way I usually do(with cream of tarter & vanilla) and it came together perfect.I will be taking this one to Thanksgiving dinner this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saracheri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I thought this was great, very simple and it turned out well for me. I'm not a huge fan of chocolate, but even with adding an extra tbsp of cocoa (after consulting with my 5y.o. niece) it wasn't too strong or too sweet. I didn't feel like making a pie crust so I used a simple shortbread crust and it complimented it nicely. Not having to roll out dough is always a plus :) Otherwise I followed the directions exactly, and the texture was awesome, very smooth and creamy, but not a pudding. Due to my own inexperience I had some problems with the meringue, but I've done my research and I know what I did wrong, and I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
My father in law who has terminal Liver Cancer had mentioned he would love to have some Chocolate pie like his mother used to make. I'm far from the Make a wish foundation in my venture but was determined to try to fulfill his wish for Fathers day. I sifted all my flour and Hershey’s Cocoa ingredients. I placed them in a mixing bowl. I used granulated sugar. Yes, Just basic old fashioned sugar. I then mixed the wet ingredients, butter, milk and eggs together with a whisk and slowly added it to the dry on a med speed until it was all mixed. I then added it to a sauce pan on a low med heat attentive to stir until the little pea size pieces of butter were melted. I then placed my pie crust on a perforated pizza pan in the preheated oven and poured the mix into the shell & baked for 45 min & added meringue & browned the top. I let it cool for an hour and then in the refrigerator it went for a suggested 24 hours. Do plan ahead and let it cool a long time. This pie was exactly what I thought it should be & was NOT in any way like a brownie, nor mushy pudding. It was chocolate pie! It was very moist, but held its shape when cut. It did not run at all. It was smooth on the tongue and no grit. It was just chocolaty and sweet enough for everyone at my table and my eighty five year old father in law said “oh man this is like my mom used to make!” I was so very happy that I didn’t pay attention to the negative banter and trusted the recipe exactly as it was. I will bake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
My filling wasn't runny, but it wasn't smooth either. I halved the recipe and filled 12 tart shells. They looked delicious, but it was only okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Wow! I made this pie for hubby's birthday and I was a bit nervous because he does NOT have a big sweet tooth; he's the type to eat a bite of a candy bar and be totally content. However, when he tried it, he LOVED IT and so did I! I read many of the reviews before hand and because of hubby's sweet tooth (or lack there of) I decided to go with only 1.5 C sugar and 2 tsp of vanilla. It turned out great. I'm making another one tonight! Oh! And we topped it with whipped cream [:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This pie recipe is so good, that when I tried it, I almost wept alittle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
A chocolate delight ...... didn't change a thing...YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I am baking this pie at the moment. It says to bake for 35-40 minutes or until it doesn't "wobble". Well after 65 minutes it is still wobbling and still in the oven. Thinking this is a joke and is going to taste a little like burnt choc. Frustrating!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This is the best chocolate pie I've ever made. It doesn't run like alot of other recipes. Nice, hearty, rich chocolate flavor. The only one I use now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tweetys

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Petersburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I thought this pie was great. I have no idea why all the negative reviews. Do not bake this pie longer as directed. It may wiggle while still hot in the oven, but once it cools a bit, it's fine. Next time I make this pie, I plan to cut the sugar back to 1 1/2 cups. It was a bit sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States