Bev's Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
My son asked Me to bring two Chocolate Pies over for Thanksgiving. I picked this recipe. I followed the directions exactly as written. His Mother (the EX) and everyone else raved about how good these pies were. The Ex actually thought I bought the pies from a bakery. Thank You, and yes I will make again. For those who heat the filling before adding the egg. You can take 1/4 cup or so of the hot filling and slowly mix into the eggs. Then pour the egg mixture into the hot filling. This will prevent the egg pieces from floating in the filling. However it is easier just to follow the recipe, and add the eggs to the filling before heating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly as stated. I did let the mixture come to a boil before I added the eggs. I also added some of the hot mixture to the eggs to bring them up in temp before adding them all to the hot mixture. This pie is great! So easy and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I have been making this pie for years. It is a great tasting chocolate pie, but the meringue was never puffy enough and I finally figured out why!! The sugar measurement is completly off in this recipe. After some research, I learned that you should have no lesss that 2 Tablespoons of sugar per egg white in a meringue. There was never enough sugar! Otherwise,this is a terrific pie that we have been enjoying for almost a decade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
The first time I baked this pie I followed the directions to a T. The texture was weird and tasted super sweet not chocolatety. I was determined to make this pie taste good. 2nd try. First off I did only 1 1/2 cups of sugar and 6 tablespoons of chocolate. I also didn't do the meringue topping (I think she didn't want to waste the egg whites). I used cool whip. Tasted much better. Also for the stove part I cooked it on low until every bit of sugar was melted and used my mixer with the whisp on the end. Once all melted together I added the butter melted that than poured in pillsbury pie crust. 3rd try. Did everything the same as second except for I realized I cooked to hot probably on medium and the yolk started to cook. I have a feeling this one wont turn out like the second try. So my suggestions is I would do everything the same as second time but add the egg and butter at the same time. I think the egg gets cooks to long and that is was gives it a weird texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I just made this and it's so delicious and wonderful! It's really easy too. I made my own meringue the way I usually do(with cream of tarter & vanilla) and it came together perfect.I will be taking this one to Thanksgiving dinner this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saracheri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I thought this was great, very simple and it turned out well for me. I'm not a huge fan of chocolate, but even with adding an extra tbsp of cocoa (after consulting with my 5y.o. niece) it wasn't too strong or too sweet. I didn't feel like making a pie crust so I used a simple shortbread crust and it complimented it nicely. Not having to roll out dough is always a plus :) Otherwise I followed the directions exactly, and the texture was awesome, very smooth and creamy, but not a pudding. Due to my own inexperience I had some problems with the meringue, but I've done my research and I know what I did wrong, and I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
My father in law who has terminal Liver Cancer had mentioned he would love to have some Chocolate pie like his mother used to make. I'm far from the Make a wish foundation in my venture but was determined to try to fulfill his wish for Fathers day. I sifted all my flour and Hershey’s Cocoa ingredients. I placed them in a mixing bowl. I used granulated sugar. Yes, Just basic old fashioned sugar. I then mixed the wet ingredients, butter, milk and eggs together with a whisk and slowly added it to the dry on a med speed until it was all mixed. I then added it to a sauce pan on a low med heat attentive to stir until the little pea size pieces of butter were melted. I then placed my pie crust on a perforated pizza pan in the preheated oven and poured the mix into the shell & baked for 45 min & added meringue & browned the top. I let it cool for an hour and then in the refrigerator it went for a suggested 24 hours. Do plan ahead and let it cool a long time. This pie was exactly what I thought it should be & was NOT in any way like a brownie, nor mushy pudding. It was chocolate pie! It was very moist, but held its shape when cut. It did not run at all. It was smooth on the tongue and no grit. It was just chocolaty and sweet enough for everyone at my table and my eighty five year old father in law said “oh man this is like my mom used to make!” I was so very happy that I didn’t pay attention to the negative banter and trusted the recipe exactly as it was. I will bake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
My filling wasn't runny, but it wasn't smooth either. I halved the recipe and filled 12 tart shells. They looked delicious, but it was only okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Wow! I made this pie for hubby's birthday and I was a bit nervous because he does NOT have a big sweet tooth; he's the type to eat a bite of a candy bar and be totally content. However, when he tried it, he LOVED IT and so did I! I read many of the reviews before hand and because of hubby's sweet tooth (or lack there of) I decided to go with only 1.5 C sugar and 2 tsp of vanilla. It turned out great. I'm making another one tonight! Oh! And we topped it with whipped cream [:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This pie recipe is so good, that when I tried it, I almost wept alittle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States