Bev's Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I made this for Christmas and everyone said it was the best chocolate pie ever! You do have to follow the recipe and make sure to not cook it on the stove but just melt the butter and then cook it in the oven. Also use the best cocoa available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Silky, creamy smooth chocolate deliciousness! First chocolate pie I've ever made, but it won't be the last! Used Special Dark cocoa. Followed the recipe exactly. Mix everything into the sauce pan, THEN turn on the medium heat and stir til butter is melted - the pie filling is silky smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is a great, delicious, simple recipe. Use a lard crust to balance out the sweet and (as recommended below) granulated sugar you really mix in and don't add heat too early. Absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Excellent pie filling...just need to add another 1 T flour for thicker pie that doesn't fall apart. I used whipped cream with vanilla bean instead of meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena-licous

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
tasty but probably won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I have made this pie at least 20 times and it NEVER fails. Those saying it doesn't set up should pay attention to the direction that says it should be baked until it is no longer wobbly. This is a SOUTHERN CLASSIC that my grandmother made for years. I have 2 of them in the oven now and I am certain that they will be as delicious as all of the others I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I made this tonight. I would like to thank Stephanie for her suggestion to use 1 1/2 cup sugar and to blend everything together in the blender. I also added 1/2 tsp salt to the mixture. It was super easy. The texture of the pie was similar to pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Loved the texture. cooked it 45 minutes. Only complaint is a little too sweet. Will definitely cut the amount of sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This pie was delicious. The pie had a real nice chocolate taste to it! The egg whites made alot of meringue so I wouldn't add all of it on there. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This pie is awesome! My family is not a big fan of meringue so I made the pie without it and added cool whip on top when I served it. I will be making this many many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States