Bev's Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
It was great! Turned out fantastically. Creamy, not runny, and can't be mistaken for a pudding-based pie recipe. Our dinner guests had seconds because it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Yum! This was amazing! Make sure you blend the egg yolks in before heating the mixture. I used 10 ounces of evaporated milk instead of 12 ounces. Also I used 1/3 cup of cocoa (which is 6 tbsp) just because it was easier than measuring out 5 tablespoons. ;-) This is my favorite chocolate pie recipe that I keep coming back to. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I made this for Christmas and everyone said it was the best chocolate pie ever! You do have to follow the recipe and make sure to not cook it on the stove but just melt the butter and then cook it in the oven. Also use the best cocoa available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Silky, creamy smooth chocolate deliciousness! First chocolate pie I've ever made, but it won't be the last! Used Special Dark cocoa. Followed the recipe exactly. Mix everything into the sauce pan, THEN turn on the medium heat and stir til butter is melted - the pie filling is silky smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is a great, delicious, simple recipe. Use a lard crust to balance out the sweet and (as recommended below) granulated sugar you really mix in and don't add heat too early. Absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Excellent pie filling...just need to add another 1 T flour for thicker pie that doesn't fall apart. I used whipped cream with vanilla bean instead of meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena-licous

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
tasty but probably won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I have made this pie at least 20 times and it NEVER fails. Those saying it doesn't set up should pay attention to the direction that says it should be baked until it is no longer wobbly. This is a SOUTHERN CLASSIC that my grandmother made for years. I have 2 of them in the oven now and I am certain that they will be as delicious as all of the others I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I made this tonight. I would like to thank Stephanie for her suggestion to use 1 1/2 cup sugar and to blend everything together in the blender. I also added 1/2 tsp salt to the mixture. It was super easy. The texture of the pie was similar to pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Loved the texture. cooked it 45 minutes. Only complaint is a little too sweet. Will definitely cut the amount of sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States