Bev's Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. To make this fit my taste I decrease the sugar by 1/4 cup and reduce the cocoa by one tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Scottsboro, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I followed one reviewers suggestion and reduced the sugar teo 1.5 cups. It was still way to sweet for us (and we like sweet). What I will say that I will definately make this again with less sugar (1 cup). It did not get runny, it was a perfect consistancy and a good chocolate flavor. I have never made a meringue pie before. My mother in law brings one every Thanksgiving and bless her heart it is always runny. So when mine came out so good I was really surprised. I owe it to the recipe. One trick I read about is make sure you put the meringue on the hot pie (this helps cook the bottom of the meringue even before it hits the oven) and seal the pie edges with the meringue (the meringue needs to touch the edges of the crust) or it will weep (little beads of syrup come through the meringue when it is done baking and cooling due to moisture getting in from the exposed pudding). Thanks for posting!!! I just may make the chocolate pie next Thanksgiving~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Great pie!! Big hit with my friend for Valentine's Day. Rich and not overly sweet. I added dark chocolate pieces to the pie before baking and then sprinkled finely chopped dark chocolate over the meringue after it was lightly browned and let them melt. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
The top meringue is not enough to cover the pie and to thin once baked. The sweet factor is a bit extreme
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I made this pie for my son during the Christmas holiday and it was wonderful. The whole family ended up eating this pie. It was so smooth, rich, and flavorful. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elena
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Easy as pie to make! (Sorry, I had to do it.) I would consider myself a novice and this pie came out beautifully. Beware. It is very, very sweet. Someone suggested using less sugar and I think I will do that next time (1.5 cups instead of 2 cups). I also used 5 heaping TBS of cocoa because several had complained of it not being chocolate-ly enough. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
One of the best (and definitely the most beautiful) pies I've ever made! It was soooo easy as well. This recipe is a total winner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JennnnLian
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I consider myself an experienced cook and an awesome follower of directions, so I don't think that the results of this recipe were any fault of my own. I followed the directions exactly and didn't have any problems with the eggs cooking while whisking or anything else--I cooked it over med-low heat the whole time and it looked great. Fast forward a few hours after baking when my husband and I cut into this for Christmas dinner. It is almost like a cross between a brownie pie and a pudding pie without being great at either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I first made this pie a couple years ago. It is now a must have for Christmas. It is always the first pie to go when I make it. I love the chocolatety taste that it has. I dont understand how some of the reviews say it doesnt have that taste. This year though I am trying a different merigne topping that I use on a cupcake reciepe I have. Hopefully it's just as good, if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made this for my Mom, who loves chocolate pie and she really liked it. I know if it's good if my husband goes back for seconds and he did. It'll be a staple at family get-togethers now. It was easy to make, did take longer to cook than the directions. I expected the meringue to be difficult but it was easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States