Beverly's Get Up & Go Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Cookies are cooling as I'm writing this...easy and flavorful. Added cranberries, pecans, and swapped the butter for applesauce and coconut oil. Thanks for sharing, Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I alter this a lot. I use fresh squeezed orange juice with some added brown sugar to sub for frozen mix. I use oatmeal for the cereal, add nuts (pecans or walnuts) sometimes dried cranberries too. They never stay in the house long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What you cooking Willis?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Good, kids liked them. Taste great FROZEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
We really enjoyed these and they came together pretty quickly. I purposely bought an orange for these but 1 orange was NOT a tablespoon of zest. I thought I had frozen concentrate but did not so I used 2 tblspn of Sunny D instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
My family's new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
These are great! I changed to 1/4 cup butter to 1/4 cup applesauce. 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup dark brown sugar. I used 3 tbsp fresh O.J. with pulp and 2-1/2 TBSP zest. and I used 1/2 cup granola. Next time I will add 1 cup of granola. I needed a bit more crunch. Then after they were cooled I made a little orange glaze (1tbsp fresh O.J. and 1/4 cup 10x sugar) and lightly drizzled over. These were so orangey and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Wow! These are really good! I took some advice from other reviews and substituted apple sauce for butter, and whole wheat flour for all-purpose flour. Also instead of grape-nut cereal (I did not have any on hand) i used granola. They were great! When I tasted the batter, they were not that good, so I was pleasantly surprised when they came out of the oven tasting great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I really like these! I'm not that great of a baker at all so with my limited skills these turned out really good. Looking forward to trying it again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I'm about to become one of those annoying people who changes the recipe then rates it. I added dried cranberries and chopped walnuts, which complimented the orange flavor nicely. To make these ok for the health conscious, I substituted applesauce for the butter, and half whole wheat flour. Quadrupling the batch and freezing the extras makes this a convenient grab and go breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I tried these with All Bran cereal and less orange zest (one tsp instead of 1 tbsp). I used less orange zest because mine is dried and too much tends to be bitter. there was still a nice orange flavor in the cookies. I thought I read one review that said these are like muffin tops; they kind of are--they didn't spread at all and just remained round from my cookie scoop. I baked each batch for about 14 minutes and they didn't brown but were baked through. I liked them, but I also like the idea of using applesauce to make them healthier, and adding fruit to it. Cranberries would be lovely in these, so I may try that next time. I also would like more cereal to have a bit more chewy texture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States