Betty's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
Easy! Easy! EASY!!! Just remember to chill the dough in wax paper for about 45 minutes for "bakery cookie" results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I LOVE these cookies. I made a similar recipe years ago, but lost the recipe in a move. When I made them they were called Cookie Monster Cookies and came out of a Sesame Street Cookbook but now all Cookie Monster Cookies are those with M & M's and oatmeal, peanut butter, etc. These cookies remind me of Sugar cookie cakes sort of, thicker than normal cutout cookies usually are and sweet with a tender texture. I didn't roll mine in sugar, but dipped a glass in sugar and used it to flatten. These are great frosted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMYSHORES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munising, Michigan, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This is a wonderful cookie! However, we used butter, not shortening. We rolled the dough in colored sugar for Christmas. The dough is gooey at first, but if you let it sit for just a little bit, it turns out perfectly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
My daughter needed cookies to take to school for chirstmas party and we wanted to make cookies from scratch so we tried these. This recipe was easy to make and very delicious. We chose to use cookie cutters to make christmas shapes and found that we had to put the dough in the refridgerator for a while before rolling out the dough but they turned out wonderful! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
This recipe was wonderful. The dough was a little oily when being formed into balls, but I added a pinch of four to my hands in order to make them less gooie. There was a small hint of saltyness to the cookies, but I was using a coarser salt, be sure to use the finest ground salt you can find and I'm sure you won't have the same problem. I also used the bottom of a glass dipped in sugar to flatten the cookie before cooking. They turned out PERFECTLY sweet, light & delightful! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Wyoming, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
I've been looking for a sugar cookie recipe as well as a shortbread recipe. My daughter made these - by herself- and they came out awesome. She used margerine instead of shortening and in my opinion they tasted like a cross between sugar cookies and shortbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
used the recipe to make cutout cookies and the dough was very sticky. needed more time in the fridge. However with a little flour we were able to cut them out. Had a 6 yr old and 4 year old helping. Overall an easy recipe that tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
THESE COOKIES ARE GREAT. I LOVE THIS RECIPE BECAUSE IT DOES NOT REQUIRE BUTTER. THE COOKIES CAME OUT VERY SOFT AND YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
This took me all of about 10 minutes to prepare, and they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
These are DELICIOUS cookies!!! I forgot to flatten them a little, but they were little puffs and were still DELICIOUS!!! I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States