Betty's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
These cookies were okay in a pinch. I probably wouldn't make them for guests but they satisfied my cookie craving. The second batch I experimented with a chocolate candy bar. I just broke it up into pieces since I didn't have any chocolate chips. This improved the taste a little. I'll save this recipe since it was so easy and I always have the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
My 12 year-old daughter made these by herself. Great for young cooks, she had to use margarine because we were out of shortening, then she got a littel impatient waiting for the dough to get workable, so she added about 1/3 cup of flour. They came out like cookie cakes, great under strawberries as a shortcake, or for ice cream sandwiches. The second batch was cookies, those were great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
This cookie is flavorless but easy to make, I would add butter or margarine instead of just shortening. I am an avid cookie maker and I like to try new cookies, this one I did not add to my cook book- no flavor what so ever- but on the plus side it is easy. Maybe adding a spice like ginger or a flavor of peppemint or even chocolate chips might add something but as it stands- not good...Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
Easy! Easy! EASY!!! Just remember to chill the dough in wax paper for about 45 minutes for "bakery cookie" results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
This recipe was great! Easy and tasty. I found the dough to be pretty sticky, but after putting it the refridgerator for 1/2 an hour it was easier to work with. So soft and Yummy!, only complanit is there was not enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
These cookies were delicious and easy to make. I would reccommend flattenig each ball more than just "slightly". I found that pressing about as much as you would for peanut butter cookies worked well. But overall, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
These cookies are so easy to make and they have a wonderful buttery taste. I made a double batch and found the batter to be a bit sticky to work with, so I just added an extra 1/2 cup flour and they were perfect!! (this did not affect the taste) I also found that these cookies freeze nicely and still keep their lovely texture and flavor. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRINCESSBING

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
These cookies are wonderful for bake sale items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
These were awesome. The first set of twelve is practicly gone right from the pan. These were surprisingly good and extremely easy to make. Good job Betty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
I was looking for a kid friendly sugar cookie and this proved to be it! My 9 and 6 year old little girls baked these with a minimum of supervision from mom--I put them in and got them out of the oven and they did the rest. The oldest three children happily helped eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States