Betty Baker's Strawberry Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I made this today at my job and sampled it out to the customers who all loved it. It's something that caught people off guard because of the mint and cilantro combo. I will be adding this one to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimmyv68

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I can't wait to try this!! By the way, I'm also from Indiana, PA!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Loved this, delicious and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was incredible! Would also be good with potato pancakes, maybe crackers with cream cheese. Probably a lot more other uses - but also great with just plain tortilla chips. It was a huge hit with everyone who tried it. What a wonderfully surprising use for strawberries - especially if you get a batch that don't seem to have "perfect" strawberry flavor yet early in the season. I didn't have mint, so omitted it; and I used jarred jalapeno slices. Also used Passion Fruit Balsamic from Gourmet Country. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This was a light, mild, refreshing salsa. If you are looking for a sweet fruit salsa, this is probably not the recipe you want. The strawberries really soak up the balsamic and take on a more savory taste, still a tad sweet, but not like a mango or pineapple salsa. I prepared as written with the exception of using fine diced red onion for the green. I drizzled a little EVOO on to keep it together and refrigerated overnight. What a pretty presentation. I enjoyed trying this recipe, thanks Miss Betty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I loved this salsa, so fun, different, refreshing! My husband thought it was weird...strawberries?? He is such a traditionalist, ha-ha... So, hooray, more for me. I followed the directions exactly except for the mint, which I left out because I simply don't like it. Oh, and I used canned jalapenos because I don't like handling raw hot peppers... haven't learned how without crying, ha-ha... Because mine were canned, I doubled the amount, otherwise I could barely taste them. This was all even better the next day. Thanks you Betty for such a fantastic recipe and idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zernike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Wow! This was really good. I did use a bit less of the jalapeno peppers (personal taste) but it was still really great. Good to make for a crowd to use as an appetizer. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
A friend served this with Blue Corn Chips and it was wonderful. She said she left out the mint all together and used only about half of the peppers. It was really yummy. Went very well with the wine that she served ... a very pleasant way to enjoy a summer eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Right after making this, my son wanted to add honey. After sitting overnight, the flavors melded so that a sweetener was not needed. Colorful and palette pleasing! We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This turned out really good, although it was a little bland for my taste. It wasn't sweet at all - I was expecting it to taste a lot sweeter and a lot like the creamy fruit dips. My friends loved it though - and they couldn't get enough!I will definitely make it again, but I might play with it next time, to see if I can add some more flavor to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States