Better than Sex Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Easy cookie to make, liked the consistency although I felt like they were missing a little something. The taste was just a little on the bland side. The look and presentation was good, I did not find they were too flat like other reviewers had mentioned. I also froze individual dough balls to use at a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I've made these on a couple of separate occasions. The first batch I left in too long because they didn't appear "done" on top. Big mistake. Make sure not to overbake them and they'll be outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sebo Edmund

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
What a huge disappointment !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Easy, simple, and with ingredients I can keep on hand at all times. I will make this again, but I tweaked the first batch a bit. I ran out of vanilla extract so I used almond instead and I only had 2 oz of nuts. So the next time I make this, I will do it the right way!! When pulling the cookies out of the oven, it's important to let them cool for about a min or so because they are so gooey in the center. But when they cool, they firm up and are sooo yummy and chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceybug8806

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, New York, USA
Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
pure deliciousness in cookie form. I always take mine out when they are a little raw looking. I assure you they will continue to bake on the pan while cooling. that way you don't get a burned bottom. ick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I love this recipe. I changed mine up a little, instead of regular Vanilla Extract I used the double strength Vanilla at the dosage it calls for in the recipe. It's a little hard to find Vanilla Baking chips where I live, so I used White Chocolate and rolled them into thick little balls. No trouble with the cookies flattening out for me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delhi, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Well...These were a good cookie. However, I had to make 2 batches. The 1st batch followed it to a T and my cookies were slightly flat and needed a little something, but couldn't put my finger on it. Went back and looked at some other reviews and made the 2nd batch. I took the white sugar decreased it to 1 1/2 cups and added 1/2 brown sugar. I increased the vanilla extract to 1 1/2 tsp, increased the flour to 3 cups and used 12 oz white chips(works out to 1 3/4 cup--one bag) and 6 oz Macadamia baking pieces dry roasted. I didn't see the need to measure out 4 oz---I like nuts so I used the whole bag. With these adjustments, I got a nice flavorful cookie as I think was intended, and still slightly soft in the middle...I have a gas oven so 8 1/2 to 9 minutes was just perfect. Even though the first batch was decent, the 2nd batch was excellent..I couldn't rate this a bad recipe at all just some minor help. Will make this again with the adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I made these for some friends at work and everyone laughed about the name. It is a very good sugar cookie...but I don't think it lived up to its name in my opinion. Everyone liked it (most people like macadamia nuts), but I wasn't crazy about them. I am not big on white chocolate, however, so maybe I shouldn't be the judge. I think next time I will try this cookie with dried pineapple or 1 cup of coconut instead of the white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Okay - but I must say -- someone must have had " bad hanky panky " because these taste too sweet, and similar to a sugar cookie --- I'd try a different recipe next time ---- dont waste your money on all the ingredients .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Ross, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Good cookie, easy to make and form the cookie but they required cooking for 14 minutes in my oven as at 9 they were still doughy. Bake time on this should be taken as a start time, not total time if you are a first time baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States