Better than Sex Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Made into cupcakes so easier to pass out at work and WOW! I altered the recipe though and it was even better than the original. Try coconut creme pudding (Jell-O makes it), and pineapple supreme cake mix (I think by Duncan Hines) instead of the vanilla pudding and yellow cake mix. Also, for cupcakes you can use just 1 box of pudding and half the milk. Whipped cream stays firmer if you freeze the bowl you mix it in first. Try not to eat them all by yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann McGibbon Lowder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
Everybody loves it!!!. The last time a baked it,I replaced the water for coconut milk. It was even better. Silvia R.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I took this to a work potluck. I used Cool Whip and ommitted the nuts and coconut. I wasn't sure about how it would taste w/ the pudding, but it turned out really moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
I made this for a Father's Day cookout, and everyone loved it! My grandmother said it is the best cake she's ever had. I used cool whip for the frosting to save some calories, and i thought it was delicious that way--perfect for summer. I also omitted the pecans and put some sliced pineapple chunks on top for garnish. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
You MUST let this cake sit overnight to get its full flavor! I made this on a Saturday, early afternoon and followed directions up to the point of the whipping cream. I covered and put in the fridge for 8 hours. I used cool whip in place of the whipping cream. I did not cover the entire cake with the coconut and nuts (I used walnuts). Due to nut allergies and personal taste preference with some guests, I topped only some pieces with the coconut and nuts. This tasted good but much better the next day. I think if I were to make a BTSC again, it would be the "chocolate" type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
I eliminated the nuts and cheated by using Cool Whip. It was soooo moist and scrumptious. Not a morsel remained!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
This cake was GREAT!! I couldn't stop eating it...(literally) LOL I found that I should have left it in the pan, I tried to take it out, and it got VERY messy when I tried to put the pudding and whip topping on, but all the same, it was DELICIOUS!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
My family really loved this recipe. It was relatively easy to prepare and a nice change of pace. The coconut and nuts add crunch to the sweetness of the pudding and cake. Next time I will try saving time by using Cool Whip instead of the heavy whipping cream. This will definitely stay on our menu! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I bake a cake once a week for my elderly mom, so finding new ones is a challenge. She loved this one, and she's picky. I did tweak it a bit: I used a french vanilla cake mix and I poked the holes with the end of a wooden spoon. I left off the pudding layer and instead mixed together 1 pkg pudding mix with 1 cup milk, then added 1 eight ounce size Cool Whip and mixed together for the frosting. Topped it with chopped pecans. Saves a little time and money, and my mom still raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I was good .You really need to let this cake chill overnight, I also added cherries to give it a little more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Rippetoe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States