Better than Sex Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I made this for my boyfriend's mom's birthday because it had her favorite: pineapple and coconut. The whole family loved it, along with a few co-workers I brought some slices to. My mom who doesn't even like pineapple or coconut tried it and thought it was great! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by mudoll
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This is such a delicious cake but I think it makes an even better cupcake. After I drizzled the cupcake with pineapple sauce, I injected them with banana creme pudding and let them set overnight. I frosted them in the morning with Rick's Buttercream Frosting recipe and added a little toasted coconut. Everyone raved about them the next day! It takes a little more time with the cupcakes, but they are worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Great cake! I used to make this years ago, but lost my recipe. I made this for dessert on easter and it was very good! I do remember it being more moist though when I used to make it. I think I cooked the pineapple to long because it didn't seem syrupy to me after the specified time. In doing this I think to much of the juice cooked away, thus the cake was not as moist. My fault. It was still delicious though. A keeper. I think next time I will try pineapple cake mix and coconut pudding...Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This recipe deserves 10 stars for simplicity and taste. So easy to make with ingredients I usually have readily on hand. Be prepared to hand out recipes when you serve it to guests or take to pot lucks. Everyone wants a copy of the recipe. Nice light tasting cake for a ladies luncheon. Can't say enough good things about this recipe. It gets better after 24 hours, if you can keep everyone away from it that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglas, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I was so anxious to make this cake because it sounded so delicious! I finally got a chance to make it yesterday and it turned out PERFECT! But I didn't use this exact recipe. Instead I looked around online for another recipe so I could compare the two and I went to FoodNetwork.com and found Paula Deen's recipe for it. I comapred them and decided to go with Paula's although this recipe looked great also. The only things that changed were; I only used one box of pudding (French Vanilla), Extra Creamy Cool Whip and instead of 3/4 cup of sugar, Paula's called for 1 3/4 cups of sugar. I do admit that was kind of alot of sugar for one can of pineapple. But overall the cake was the best cake I had ever eaten! It's a great combination of ingrediants that work VERY WELL TOGETHER! : ) Oh! and next time I'll defiantely cut back on the sugar!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I would have given it a 5, but I felt that the difficulty level of making it wasn't worth it. This tasted absolutely wonderful, but the flavor of the pineapple overtook everything else, so the other three layers were kind of pointless, because they got overpowered. It was basically a really good pineapple cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I love this cake, someone made it for me at work and now i am gonna try to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
OMG This cake is great I love it and so did one of my friends. Her birthday is coming up. and guess what she asked me to make her. This cake is so good there is no way you could mess it up. Thanks you for this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
As if it can get much better, I have made a few varieties. try using banana pudding instead of vanila. I also made a double decker, using a layer with banana pudding, and cocanut on the other layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Demotte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This cake was beyond great! I made it for my mom and dad's anniversary, and EVERYONE loved it! I didnt have a yellow cake mix, so I made a yellow cake from scratch; I was afraid it would be a little too dense, so I poked extra holes in the top of it, and it turned out AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Winlock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States