Better than Sex Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by shellygattlieb
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I made it exactly as directed, and it turned out perfectly! The toasted coconut on pecans on the top really give it the perfect layer of crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I followed the directions as stated, no changes, no substitutions, and the cake came out delicious! I received tons of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This is our favorite version of this recipe, my ten year old son requests this for his birthday every year over a store bought cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Yum-freakin'-eeee! Best on the site! Use a wooden spoon handle to poke holes though, as a fork doesn't allow a big enough hole for the sauce to drain into. You won't be sorry if you try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Great starter recipe, gave it four stars cause with a couple tweaks it becomes amazing. When baking the cake, replace the water called for on the box with coconut milk. ( I like to use the regular yellow betty crocker cake mix) Also, use coconut milk to make the pudding. YUMMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forbach, Lorraine, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I did follow suggestions from other reviewers, using coconut cream pie pudding and pineapple flavored cake. On the pineapple syrup, I added a bit of cornstarch because I don't like my cake soggy. It tastes much better if you refrigerate it for 24 hours. This recipe is a keeper!!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwitina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I made this for a New Years party we attended this year and everyone raved about it! I did however make a few changes. - I used lemon cake mix instead - I used cool whip instead of icing (I was pressed for time) - I didn't add the coconut I've already made this twice, and plan to make it again! Thanks Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVES_POOKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
The name is certainly fake advertisement (or at least for some people sake, I hope so…). 1st of all, I would not suggest this cake for the winter time, I made it yesterday by the recipe and it was not what I was expecting. It was too cold to eat on such a cold day! The best thing about this was simply the box cake. The pudding was too much and the whipping cream mixture was so runny and simply sunk to the bottom. I appreciate the recipe, but I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I customized the recipe by using pineapple juice instead of water, layering the cake first with pineapples, then vanilla pudding, then bananas, then strawberries(frozen/sweetened), then strawberry or regular whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffani HappyasEver

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States