Better Than Sex Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This cake was a big hit at my quilting guild luncheon! I keep the ingredients on hand so I'm ready to prepare a quick and delicious desert with wonderful feedback from everyone asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I love this cake!!! I altered it some. Instead of regular whipped cream, I used the vanilla flavored cool whip. I'm not much of a banana fan so I sliced them ultra thin, only used one and can barely taste them. I also used the 5 oz. box of pudding. I advise to let sit overnight before eating so it will become extra moist, although I dug into mine after 3 hrs to ensure it was cold. Great summer recipe, great for people who don't like icing. I will definitely make this a part of my holiday meal from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This cake made an awful mess. The cake I baked was slightly rounded on top, by the time I tried to put all the toppings on, it was running off the sides. Also, recipe said to cook pineapple and sugar 5 minutes, this still had a lot of juice. which tried to run out over the top of the pan when poured over cake. If mixture was supposed to be thickened, that's what the instructions should have said. This cake can definitely not be made in a pan that has a lid to go over it for transport. I will never make this mess again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I made this for a friends birthday, it was absolutely delicious! Not a slice was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
The cake is good but its bland. I was hoping for a richer more decadent cake given the name. I thought the pineapple would provide it. If I make it again I'll make some changes to try and find a yummier taste. 1. The bananas are not good. They turn brown and slimy and do not keep well if the cake is not eaten right away. 2. The pudding is bland and does nothing for the cake so I won't use it again. In its place I want to try and find a cream cheese filling to place on top of the pineapple. 3. I might try brown sugar instead of white with the pineapple. 4. Use pecans. 5. Toast the coconut. I think with some changes this cake can become "better than sex" :) But not with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I took this for a desert potluck... It was a hit! I followed the recipe as posted, I did toast the Coconut first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This is so good. It taste like a banana split sundae. I also poked holes in the cake and I used french vanilla pudding and cake mix. I also added some sliced cherries on top of the bananas. This cake just kept growing as I assembled it. It was huge so there will be plenty to share with neighbors and coworkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
i make it w/o the bananas and I poke holes in the cake and poor the hot pineapple juice mixture on the cake and then let it cool! YYYYYYUUUUMMMYYY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
My recipe is very similar, except that when I cook the pineapple, I only use 1/4 c. sugar and 2 T. cornstarch to thicken it. I use 2 pkg. vanilla instant pudding, 3 c. milk and 1 8 oz. pkg. cream cheese. I also do not use bananas or coconut. When I used to take this to work for a retirement party, it was the first one to be gone. The men would be mad at me if I didn't make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piper City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I would have to disagree with the title of this recipe! I followed the directions to a T and have to say that it was not a hit with my family. It was good, but I would not consider this a recipe I would make again. The aspect of the cake I did like was that it had an overall lightness about it. I expected more than what I got.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States