Better Than Sex Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
This recipe has been in with my family for quite a few years, and I have a few easier methods to making it--right when you pull the cake out of the oven, take the handle of a wooden spoon and poke holes all over the cake (it doesn't matter if you hit the bottom of the pan or not) and then poor the caramel directly into the holes, then do the same with the condensed milk. Once the cake cools, top it with the cool whip and then top that with the toffee bars crunched up (Heath & Skor bars seem to work very well). This is by far the one recipe that I pass along the most--it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
I read the reviews and made some changes to make a better cake. First I made the devil's food cake and cut the oil in half. It makes a dense cake so it won't get soggy (like everyone complained) and brings out the flavor of the chocolate. After baking I poked holes in the cake with a chopstick (not to the bottom of the pan), poured a jar of caramel over the top at room temperature (I omitted the milk completely because I didn't want it to be soggy)and poured chocolate syrup over the caramel. I broke up two Heath bars and put those on top. Next layer was cool whip and two more candbars. For presentation I added chocolate syrup stripes. It looked great, the cake didn't fall apart and everyone LOVED. Serve immediatley. It wasn't overwhelmingly sweet but sweet enough! I love sweets and this was perfect. I'll make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
818 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Yummy!...I did make a few changes...this is actually a recipe I saw in a magazine(it was called Better than Homework Cake)....the only difference was that this recipe calls for devils food cake and the other one called for german chocolate cake (which I personally dont care for). The changes I made were poking holes in the cake with the back of a wooden spoon instead of making slits...and I used the whole 14 oz. can of condensed milk and doubled the amount of caramel topping....seems like a lot...but it soaks in and makes like a sauce for this cake. Used lite cool whip and pre-packaged chocolate covered toffee pieces. Great flavor...took this to friends house for dessert and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
495 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I have been making this for years, and it has always been a wonderful and dependable standby when I've needed a spur of the moment dessert. My recipe, however, uses the full can of sweetened condensed milk (not heated), followed by a full 15-16 oz. jar of slightly warmed ice cream topping (I like Mrs. Richardson's butterscotch-caramel) Having raised both a son and a daughter, I can tell you that it seems that boys go even more crazy over this dessert than the girls, but maybe that's only because the girls were more concerned about their waistlines! :) This is outrageously gooey and good, combining two favorite flavors, chocolate and caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Great recipe! A huge hit with all that have tried it! I have made this forever, but the way I've always done it seems a bit easier. Also, I use German Chocolate cake. Basically I put little holes in the cake and pour the milk on it (straight from the can. Let it soak, pour the carmel on it (straight from the jar) and let it soak. Then I add the whipped cream and I buy toffee bits already chopped up (Skor). I serve it chilled, it seems to be better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
This is one of the best desserts I have made. After making it the first time, I have found that the whipping cream seems to detract from the chocolate/carmamel flavor of the cake, so I don't use it. If you want to cut down on some of the sweetness then the whipping cream is not a bad idea. It adds to the presentation as well, but definitely not necessary. I also have found that it is much easier to microwave the caramel mixture. Try not to use the stove. It can burn easily. Excellent cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
This cake is sooo amazing! I have made it 3 times so far. I made it for 2 seperate Christmas parties last year and it was the rave of everyone at the party. This cake went much faster than all the others. If you want to be a big hit, make this for dessert. I do have one tip, be sure to be careful when cutting the slits on the cake. If you go too deep, the cake is gonna fall apart when serving it. Also be sure to put the whip cream on after the cake has cooled or else it will melt right off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Wonderful, very rich cake! I would suggest not making the slits very deep because the caramel goes to the bottom of the cake, and it's hard to serve. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2000
I took this cake to a barbecue over the weekend and everyone enjoyed it. I definitely will use more toffee bars, perhaps 5 and will not use all of the caramel sauce as it slipped under the cake and made it difficult to serve. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2000
This cake was good but the caramel layer didn't sink down into the cake. I won't keep it as one of my top 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 865) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States