Better Than Sex Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
People love it, too sweet for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I loved it only thing is I had to keep the cake in the freezer to keep the whip cream from melting so it'll stay on the top of the cake. and I did chocolate chunks so I can enjoy the chocolate more than the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This apparently went over well at the girls night dinner I brought it to. I don't mind it, but I am not a fan of whipped topping. I do love condensed milk and caramel..but I am also not a fan of chocolate cake. I did have about 3 pieces over the past 2 days though..and between 6 people the dish was totally gone in 2 days..haha! I would make it again for a party because it's easy and looks appealing, but I don't particularly care for half of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WOOBSIEE
Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Simple and fabulous. This is always a hit and has become my "signature dessert" that is requested by friends whenever we have dinner parties. I have done some modifications at times pending my mood and added dizzled hot fudge mixed with the caramel both on the cake and as a topping. I have also substituted the toffee for frozen snickers. Yummm! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Yep! This cake is always a crowd pleaser. Very rich. Try not to go back for thirds. It won't be easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
YUMMY! I make other cakes that require adding some kind of filling inside the cake. To make it easier, I bought a plastic container, similar to a ketchup squeeze bottle. I cut the top down to make the opening larger. I filled my bottle with the milk and caramel mixture, took my time and easily filled the holes in the warm cake. I saved some of the milk-caramel mixture to spread on the top to make the candy stick to the cake. You can find toffee pieces in the stores making it easier than smashing up candy bars. I poked holes in the warm cake with a wooden spoon handle and followed a review saying to use the whole can of milk and whole jar of caramel and it was just too wet for me. The second time I watched the video, and used the correct amounts and it was delicious! I frosted with Cool Whipped Frosting. It's sturdier than plain Cool Whip and holds up well when sitting out for a bit, unlike whipped cream. I think I need to save this cake for very special celebrations because it's not exactly lo-cal. Thank you Angelady, I will keep this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I love this recipe for an easy dessert to bring for gatherings or family events. I found the caramel/condensed milk didn't distribute well with the holes from a wooden spoon as others suggested, so for better distribution, I scored the top diagonally from the corners. It's also easier to get it to sink in if you have another person use the bottom of a spoon to direct it into the scores after pouring. I also speed up cooling by putting it in the freezer for 20-30 min. before topping it. It's still really easy and tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
A W E S O M E!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
One of our favorite cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I've never had or made this cake before - it was delicious but very sweet. I used real whipping cream instead of coolwhip on it which has no sweet to it at all and it was still very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danamiddleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 890) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States