Better Than Sex Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I actually got the recipes from my cousin a few years ago. But I poke holes in the cake as soon as it comes out the oven and pour the condensed milk on it so it soaks in. I also find if you heat the caramel in microwave first it goes on a lot smoother. And I put hot fudge ice cream topping on it too, which I also heat before spreading. But I'm asked to make this cake for every family event every year. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This cake is SO good! I call it "Candy Bar Cake" because I took it to work all the time, and I didn't want to use this name. (I worked with all men.) Also, they preferred Snicker's bars over Heath. I've made a Reece's Cup one using peanut butter topping instead of caramel. And I made an Oreo cookie one and used chocolate fudge topping. This cake has so many possibilities. Personally, I prefer the original toffee bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
ITs good but you need to change the name because sex still wins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This cake was perfect! Three things I suggest: 1) when making the cake mix use 1/2 oil & 1/2 applesauce for the amount of oil required on box mix.(makes for a moist cake & no you don't taste it in the cake.) 2)Test for done with toothpick at least 8 min. before suggested baking time. 3) make the day before so dessert mellows & brings out the flavors. I mixed everything as written mixing the milk & caramel on warm in microwave.(defrost) The people who served this & had trouble removing from pan, I think can be a couple of things. 1) served cold from refrigerator & or didn't leave out for about 1 hour before serving. 2) If you mix the caramel & milk as written, the caramel does't get so thick when cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This was a huge hit with my family. They all loved it so much, everyone was asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I have made this numerous times and it always turns out sooooo YUMMY, is not the word, incredibly addicting and heavenly!!! HAHAH Making it tonight for St. Pats dessert, might add some Baileys to the caramel milk sauce!!! YUMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Our family has made this recipe for years. We use German Chocolate cake, poke holes with a wooden spoon (as other reviewers have mentioned), and then pour the whole jar of caramel topping into the holes in the warm cake. Then pour the whole can of condensed milk on top of that. Cover and let chill overnight. The top with the cool whip and the crushed toffee. Best cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
VERY, VERY SWEET. but I definitely LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
It's better to make this cake a day or two ahead of serving. Like everyone else, I poked holes into the cake instead of slits to pour the caramel topping in. Very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
If this is better than sex, I'd look for a different partner. It was OK. Just OK. Certainly not worthy of the name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 869) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States