Better Than Sex Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I haven't made this cake in years. My son asked about this it and I didn't have a recipe so I used this one. It was really good but I think next time I will take the advice of other reviewers. I will use the whole can of sweetened condensed milk & a whole jar of caramel sauce. It is yummy and I would recommend this delicous cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Valentine Spratt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is the recipe I have loved for years - just as "naples34102", I use the whole can of condensed milk & the entire jar of Ms. Richardson's butterscotch caramel topping. Regardless of minute changes, it is hard to mess this up. My favorite dessert, hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christie in mt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Love this cake! But I am a baking snob... :-) I made my own cake. I actually used a chocolate cake recipe and it turned out fabulous. I poked holes with the wooden spoon and poured the milk in first and then the caramel. In the oven as I write this is the same cake but made into cupcake forms. Going to test how this works with cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I used dark chocolate cake instead of devil's food. Was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This cake is so good. I made a chocolate cake from scratch and then used this recipe. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Very good! I will definetly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I am the kind of person who enjoys the frosting more than the cake itself. This type of cake is perfect because the caramel mixture permeates the entire cake, making it hard to taste that "cake-mix" flavor! I used a chopstick to poke large holes, which I felt helped the cake better absorb the caramel mixture. I saw that some people complained the cake was too soggy/fell apart - I used Duncan Hines mix, which has no pudding in it and therefore is less prone to sogginess. I was also careful not to poke the holes completely through the cake. I had no trouble with cutting and serving this cake. It was devoured by a small group and I had multiple requests for the recipe! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I poked holes with a fork as soon as it came out of the oven and added the caramel sauce and condensed milk right away then refrigerated added the whipped cream and used butter fingers and more caramel on top. It was so good. My husband told me it was the best cake he ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Crowd hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonenberger0512

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
i made this for my step-dad for Father's Day. and he LOVED it, couldn't stay out of it. mmmm..this cake was SO good. it SHOULD be pre-made AT LEAST 2 days before serving it, so it has longer ingredient soak-time. Believe me, i tried it the first day, as well as the third day. OMG it was SOOOO much better the third day, such a difference.. the only did two things differently, i didn't mix the caramel and the condensed milk together, i just alternated pouring both all over the holes i poked in the cake (with a fork) AND i used Butterfinger instead of toffee. this cake was bomb, fire, amazing, and probably better than sex..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Sioux City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 890) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States