Better Than Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
Yummy! this IS ever better than pumpkin pie. Super creamy. The squash is easy to deal with if prebaked (halved, seeds scooped out, face down in a baking pan with a little water with a 1/2 inch of water, covered in foil and baked for 1/2 hour at 350*) Then you can just scoop it out and you're ready to puree with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I microwaved a small butternut sq. for three minutes to make it easy to cut and easy to peal. No puncturing necessary, it won't blow up. I ground both my allspice and cloves in a crucible. I added all 5 of the spices to a room temperature beaten egg and let set 30 minutes to bloom/release the taste(Std. Minnonite trick for all recipes using spices and eggs). I substituted 1/3 cup each of the following sugars: white, brown and corn syrup (Std cowboy trick for richer taste). At 35 minutes I placed a shield over the edges. I used a crust calling for cold unsalted butter and ice water and cut 1" overhang with shears and folded under the edge and used my nuckle inside and two pinching fingers outside to form the edge. Squash/slide extra dough into center bottom to combat crust shrinkage. One guy at the Thanks Giving table ate three pieces and wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
This is the best Pumpkin(squash) Pie I have ever made & I`m an old woman! I have been making pie for 50 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I had never made any kind of pumpkin pie before, but this one turned out so well that I never WILL make a "real" pumpkin pie! The butternut squash was easy to work with, and the whole recipe was simple. The only slight problem I had was getting the pie into the oven without spilling, since it was quite liquidy before cooking (but it turned out the perfect consistency). We had it with whipped cream on top--yum! The second time I made this pie, I didn't have any of the frozen/unbaked pie crusts. I used a graham ready-made pie shell, and it turned out great! The liquid seeped into the crust, giving it some flavor and preventing it from burning in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I made this pie for friends & they pronounced it fabulous. For the squash: Cut in half & microwave cut side down in a dish w/ 1/4 " water approx. 15 minutes. Cool & scoop out flesh. Super Easy to work with. Sooooooooooooooo smooth & not too sweet. I plan on making it for Thanksgiving. Forget canned pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Wow. I really wanted a pumpkin pie, but I like them made from fresh pumpkin and they were all sold out here. This was fantastic. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of doing the squash in the oven. I think next time I'll just follow ALL of the directions and boil it. Either way, this is a fantastic pie and well worth the trouble. After this, you'll never eat an autumn time pie out of a can again! Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChunkyMonkeyMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
wow,, this pie is sooo creamy and smooth.. just like i remember pumpkin pie.. it tastes just like it, same color, same everything LOL .. mine wasnt that pretty but its really good. changes i made (due to reviewers saying it wasnt enough filling): 1 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 1/2 cup MASHED butternut squash (about 2 3/4 cup chopped) 1 1/4 cup evaporated milk, 2 medium eggs, 1 tbsp cornstarch, 1/8 teaspoon cloves, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg and ginger each. soo good! baked 55 minutes then turned off the oven and left it in there 10 more minutes.. i made this with the butter flaky pie crust from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Photo by damitWS6
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I cooked the squash in the oven before peeling and instead of boiling-worked great. Also made real pumpkin to compare. The squash was so smooth, the pumkin still had some strings. Everyone enjoyed the sqaush better than the pumpkin, but do wait until they are enjoying it to tell them it's not pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by damitWS6

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Diamond Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I loved this pie. It is definitely better than pumpkin pie. You don't need a very big squash to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUECOVELLBUTLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This is a great pie.I added some pumpkin pie spice,1 teaspoon.for one batch ,I used egg beaters and fat free evaporated milk,It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States