Better Than Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was good, but I was not convinced that it tasted any different from actual pumpkin pie. It had a good texture, but I took 1 star away because really I think it is just easier to open a can of pumkpin than to go through all the mess and hassle with the squash, especially since you can't really tell the difference. No one at the Thanksgiving table was really able to taste any difference between this and the real pumpkin pie. Probably unlikely that I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I made this pie last year, and again this year, and it was a smash hit both times. Everyone said their favorite pie was the "pumpkin", and they were astounded when I told them it wasn't pumpkin, but butternut squash! I absolutely recommend this recipe! Edited to add: I made this AGAIN two days later for church, but used regular orange squash (fresh still) and it came out just as good, if not better than the butternut. Very creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This makes a pretty tasty pie. If I didn't know it wasn't pumpkin I probably wouldn't guess that it wasn't. I accidentally grabbed condensed milk (oops) so I just left out the sugar and subbed the can of condensed milk for the evaporated. Even still, the pie was really creamy, and it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This recipe is why I cannot wait until autumn! I love, love, love it and my husband does too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Wow. I really wanted a pumpkin pie, but I like them made from fresh pumpkin and they were all sold out here. This was fantastic. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of doing the squash in the oven. I think next time I'll just follow ALL of the directions and boil it. Either way, this is a fantastic pie and well worth the trouble. After this, you'll never eat an autumn time pie out of a can again! Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChunkyMonkeyMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This is a great pie.I added some pumpkin pie spice,1 teaspoon.for one batch ,I used egg beaters and fat free evaporated milk,It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
this was awful. it didnt taste like pumpkin pie at all, and i love pumpkin pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Hard to say if it's better than pumpkin pie because we've never had real pumpkin pie before this one! Either way, I liked the rich buttery flavour of the filling. I used a whole squash (2 cups 1/2) and added more spice and an extra egg to compensate. Dh said it was just ok but I think he wouldn't like the real thing either so it's more a question of personal taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I've made this pie twice. Once with canned squash & once with frozen squash. And, I used a graham cracker crust (coat with egg whites & bake 5 minutes @ 350, to keep from qetting soggy). Both pies were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Better than pumpkin pie? Not really. Different? Yes. Baked the squash, instead of boiling. I think boiling would make it too soggy. Much lighter and sweeter than pumpkin. Got good comments, but I think I like pumpkin best of all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States