Better Than Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by S.Brooks
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This was amazing, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.Brooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This was definitely the best pumpkin pie I've had in a while, but I don't necessarily think it has much to do with the use of butternut squash over pumpkin. I think it's more a fresh over canned situation. I also made the pie crust from scratch, so everything was super fresh and tastey. I think the main benefit of the butternut squash is it is easier to work with then a whole pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittyball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is a delicious recipe! Even though it taste a bit more like veggies, its still awesome and it does taste a lot like pumpkin pie, because my family didn't believe me at first when I told them it was squash! Thanks so much for this delicous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This pie was really good but too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I was looking for a way to use a large squash! This was a great recipe! I like it better than the Libby's pumpkin pie that I usually make every year. I used soy milk so my husband could eat it and it worked fine. I also made some with the canned milk and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was great! My husband didn't know it wasn't pumpkin! It's great for all the extra butternut squash from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
The most difficult part of this recipe is cutting the squash in half; if you have some hints on an easier way, I'd love to hear them! However, we LOVE this recipe, and it's worth the trouble when you taste the results. The butternut squash gives the pie a richer flavor than plain pumpking, and my 7 & 9 year olds ask for this pie every year. Thanks for posting, I've been making this since 2005.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
DH decided he liked this more than the pumpkin! It was light and fluffy! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I loved this! I usually don't like pumpkin pie all the much either. I made this for Thanksgiving this past week and everyone loved it. I told everyone the secret when I had one teeny tiny slice left and 2 family members wanted the last slice to see what it tasted like. I also cooked the squash in the microwave face down with a little water in the pan instead of baking. I grew larger butter nut squash this summer, so I didn't even use a whole squash. I could have gotten away with using just half of one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
EASY, as good as pumkin pie a little less sweet, just right. Can't stop makin' this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States