Better Than Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Since 11/04/04,I have made 326-pies,51-two layered cakes.Of all the Pumpkin pies I have made,this recipe is one of the best.Paul
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This is really good! It has a nice, consistent, smooth texture. I omitted the allspice, cloves, and nutmeg because I didn't have any on me. THESE ARE ESSENTIAL!!!!! But, nonetheless, very good recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by damitWS6
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I cooked the squash in the oven before peeling and instead of boiling-worked great. Also made real pumpkin to compare. The squash was so smooth, the pumkin still had some strings. Everyone enjoyed the sqaush better than the pumpkin, but do wait until they are enjoying it to tell them it's not pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by damitWS6

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Diamond Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
I made this for Thanksgiving last year. It was good but not that much better than pie made with canned pumpkin and much more labor-intensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This pie tasted wonderful and very creamy. My husband quickly declared it "better than his mother's." Now that's saying something! I had run out of nutmeg and the pie STILL tasted great. Can't wait to make it with all the spices. Yum, even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Tasted just like pumpkin pie! I'll definitely make this again, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
Yummy! this IS ever better than pumpkin pie. Super creamy. The squash is easy to deal with if prebaked (halved, seeds scooped out, face down in a baking pan with a little water with a 1/2 inch of water, covered in foil and baked for 1/2 hour at 350*) Then you can just scoop it out and you're ready to puree with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
This is the best Pumpkin(squash) Pie I have ever made & I`m an old woman! I have been making pie for 50 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Well, I scrunched my face up at the thought of 'peeling' squash. That's a pretty hard shell to peel. Since the instructions didn't say to cook it first, I decided the best thing to do was to cut up the squash, and cut away the shell. It worked pretty well, the squash cooked fairly quickly in water. My medium squash (about 2-3 pounds) made plenty - enough for two pies, I'd say. This was my first homemade pie. It turned out very well, tasted just like pumpkin. I will make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and it was so delicious. We taste tested three pumpkin pies and this was by far the best!! Thanks for sharing the recipe. This will be the only 'pumpkin' pie I ever make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States