Better Than Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This recipe is why I cannot wait until autumn! I love, love, love it and my husband does too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Wow. I really wanted a pumpkin pie, but I like them made from fresh pumpkin and they were all sold out here. This was fantastic. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of doing the squash in the oven. I think next time I'll just follow ALL of the directions and boil it. Either way, this is a fantastic pie and well worth the trouble. After this, you'll never eat an autumn time pie out of a can again! Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChunkyMonkeyMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This is a great pie.I added some pumpkin pie spice,1 teaspoon.for one batch ,I used egg beaters and fat free evaporated milk,It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
this was awful. it didnt taste like pumpkin pie at all, and i love pumpkin pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Hard to say if it's better than pumpkin pie because we've never had real pumpkin pie before this one! Either way, I liked the rich buttery flavour of the filling. I used a whole squash (2 cups 1/2) and added more spice and an extra egg to compensate. Dh said it was just ok but I think he wouldn't like the real thing either so it's more a question of personal taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I've made this pie twice. Once with canned squash & once with frozen squash. And, I used a graham cracker crust (coat with egg whites & bake 5 minutes @ 350, to keep from qetting soggy). Both pies were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Better than pumpkin pie? Not really. Different? Yes. Baked the squash, instead of boiling. I think boiling would make it too soggy. Much lighter and sweeter than pumpkin. Got good comments, but I think I like pumpkin best of all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Came out great! I don't know what constitutes a pinch, so I used two shakes of each spice. I had to cook it a little longer than called for as the center had not set, but a pie shield kept the crust from getting too brown. No one knew it wasn't pumpkin and it's so easy to get fresh butternut squash already peeled and cubed (Trader Joe's), there's no reason not to use this fresh instead of canned pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Photo by BEPOSITIVE
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Served this at Thanksgiving and did not reveal the true main ingredient until after my family ate it. None of us thought this pie lived up to its name. It was good, but I think it could have used a little more of the spices, especially cinnamon. Not a bad alternative, for a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEPOSITIVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This was definitely tasty, but it needed something more. It is kind of bland. I will make it again but add more squash, and lots more spices. It's a good recipe, though, because it has all the basic stuff you need and you can be a little relaxed about the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States