Better Than Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
DH decided he liked this more than the pumpkin! It was light and fluffy! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I loved this! I usually don't like pumpkin pie all the much either. I made this for Thanksgiving this past week and everyone loved it. I told everyone the secret when I had one teeny tiny slice left and 2 family members wanted the last slice to see what it tasted like. I also cooked the squash in the microwave face down with a little water in the pan instead of baking. I grew larger butter nut squash this summer, so I didn't even use a whole squash. I could have gotten away with using just half of one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
EASY, as good as pumkin pie a little less sweet, just right. Can't stop makin' this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Awesome. I used my own pie crust recipe, and it turned out just fine. Cook time was more like 70 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Very tasty - I used dark brown sugar, a rounded tsp. of cinnamon, several gratings of fresh nutmeg, a pinch of cloves and about 1/4 tsp. ginger (my family prefers a richer, spicier taste). For the squash I used about 1 and 1/4 cups previously cooked, then mashed and frozen butternut squash. Very good pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
My first time making a fresh squash pie. Only made pumpkin pie from a can and advised against making pie from fresh pumpkin. I haven't figured out why it took me almost double the about of baking time, but it turned out wonderful. Will do this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Has anyone tried this with pumpkin?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This was my first time making a pie from fresh squash. Actually it was my first time doing anything with a fresh winter squash! It can't believe how easy it was! I prepared the squash itself a couple days ahead (I had planned to make it that day but I was missing a couple ingredients), refrigerated it and processed it with the remaining ingredients later. I don't think I've ever tasted pumpkin pie made from fresh pumpkin rather than canned, but this tastes so much better than a canned-pumpkin pie! My fiance, who was almost afraid to taste it because he isn't big on squash, absolutely loves this! He agrees that it's better than pumpkin :) I believe I'll be making this recipe several more times this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Van Wert, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Awesome! Dad said "This is what pumpkin pie wishes it were."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I love this recipe! It has become a staple at my family's Thanksgivings. My son told me the week before Thanksgiving (he's away at college now), 'I've been thinking about that pie for weeks!' I prefer draining the puree overnight through cheesecloth, and I bake the squash (halved) in about an inch of water. Much easier than peeling and chopping a raw one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States