Better Than Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I just tried 6 different recipes using canned pumpkin and fresh pumpkin and also this recipe. We also threw a piece of store bought pumpkin pie for the taste test. I wasn't expecting much from this one as the squash puree was really watery and still lumpy after processing over and over, but it ended up surprising everyone. It turned out a nice dark color and was our favorite tasting pie of the bunch. I subbed Splenda brown sugar mix. Great recipe, will be using this for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
The flavor of this pie was just right. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is because I didn't think there was enough filling to fill the pie crust. Next time I may increase the recipe by half as suggested by another reviewer. Also, I had to bake this for an additional half-hour (the last 10 minutes at 375).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsSpice
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This is awesome! What a great way to use squash. I've made this twice in the last week. The first time I made as-written and it was excellent, the second time, I increased the recipe by half (to make a thicker pie) and upped the spices significantly and I liked it even better. Thanks for a classic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by S.Brooks
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This was amazing, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.Brooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This was definitely the best pumpkin pie I've had in a while, but I don't necessarily think it has much to do with the use of butternut squash over pumpkin. I think it's more a fresh over canned situation. I also made the pie crust from scratch, so everything was super fresh and tastey. I think the main benefit of the butternut squash is it is easier to work with then a whole pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittyball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is a delicious recipe! Even though it taste a bit more like veggies, its still awesome and it does taste a lot like pumpkin pie, because my family didn't believe me at first when I told them it was squash! Thanks so much for this delicous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This pie was really good but too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I was looking for a way to use a large squash! This was a great recipe! I like it better than the Libby's pumpkin pie that I usually make every year. I used soy milk so my husband could eat it and it worked fine. I also made some with the canned milk and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was great! My husband didn't know it wasn't pumpkin! It's great for all the extra butternut squash from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
The most difficult part of this recipe is cutting the squash in half; if you have some hints on an easier way, I'd love to hear them! However, we LOVE this recipe, and it's worth the trouble when you taste the results. The butternut squash gives the pie a richer flavor than plain pumpking, and my 7 & 9 year olds ask for this pie every year. Thanks for posting, I've been making this since 2005.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States