Better Than Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Very good pie. Not really as time consuming as I had expected. My picky future father in law even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LERIN26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Love it.. the best "pumpkin' pie I ever ate. I did up the spices, 2x cinnamon, a few good shakes of ginger, a few shakes of apple pie spice just WHAT I HAD ON HAND and the recipe needs to be tripled to give 2 nice size pies. Also, I used a potato peeler to peel the whole squash. Made that part really easy. I already polished off my last piece. Thank goodness I sent the other one home with my mother or I would sticking a knife in it right now.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by RoseWren
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I was very happy with the outcome of this recipe. It definitely tasted like pumpkin pie but a little sweeter, a little creamier and much lighter. I did alter the recipe a little as suggested in other reviews (thanks katie_luvs2bake!) *2 3/4 cups peeled/cubed butternut squash, 1 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 tbsp cornstarch, 2 eggs, 1 tbsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp each ginger and nutmeg, 1/8 tsp each cloves and all spice* Made more filling and added more flavor and spice. I thought it was very delicious and the family agreed too! I also used the Butter Flaky Pie Crust recipe for this pie. Perfect addition! Can't wait until next Thanksgiving to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseWren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
made this last year and my family and friends didn't even know it wasn't made with pumpkin. They didn't know the difference between the pumpkin and the butternut squach. Making again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rex, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I'm rating this 4 stars as is because I didn't alter the spices but they could use some tweaking. I made 1 1/2 the amount of filling based on previous reviews. It was more than I could fit in the pie shell but I think as is, the recipe would not have made enough filling. The spices in the pie are very subtle. I would double them all next time. I also had to cook the pie 1 hour and 10 minutes. It definitely tastes like pumpkin pie, no one would ever know the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Lewiston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I used a small butternut squash from my garden and had about 2 cups of mashed squash, so I figured my pie would be thicker, but went ahead and upped the spiced like suggested and used 2 eggs. This was a very smooth pie. Tastes just like pumpkin pie, but I don't think I had enough spices. My filling made 2 pies, so if I'd doubled the amount of spices from what I used, it might have been amazing. I think next time I'll throw some oatmeal in there just to be different and to give some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I have made this twice: once with butternut squash, peeled and boiled, using almond milk to replace the evaporated milk and following the rest of the recipe exactly. The second time, I used a buttercup squash (round, flat topped, greenish) and added a 2nd egg instead of the cornstarch (still used almond milk due to a cow's milk allergy). Both were baked in flan cups in a bain-marie in a 325 degree oven. The second version was much more flavourful and richer with the 2 eggs. It was so amazing that I could not stop eating the finished product!! While both versions are very good; the second one is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I was a pumpkinpie or any pie rookie, until i deciced to try this recipe out! It was awesome, I took the recipe and changed and used lofat milk for the evap milk and it went smooth also used splenda brown sugar mix and flour and lof fat margarine and made a crust for lower sweetness and poss. diabetes person in house. it went glowingly thickened up well and everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
wow,, this pie is sooo creamy and smooth.. just like i remember pumpkin pie.. it tastes just like it, same color, same everything LOL .. mine wasnt that pretty but its really good. changes i made (due to reviewers saying it wasnt enough filling): 1 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 1/2 cup MASHED butternut squash (about 2 3/4 cup chopped) 1 1/4 cup evaporated milk, 2 medium eggs, 1 tbsp cornstarch, 1/8 teaspoon cloves, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg and ginger each. soo good! baked 55 minutes then turned off the oven and left it in there 10 more minutes.. i made this with the butter flaky pie crust from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
interesting recipe!! after reading a few reviews, i added in more spices (1.5 tsp cinnamon, and maybe a double pinch of all the rest...i didn't have allspice) because i didn't want it to be tasteless. it wasn't! now that the pie is cool, it's not as solid as i think pumpkin pie is, but it's more of a 'melt in your mouth' type of taste...not as gritty as pumpkin pie (maybe b/c there's no white sugar in this?). overall tasty, but a lot more work than buying a can of pumpkin at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States