Better Than Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was great! Even better than pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Easy and really does taste better than pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
No one will know this isnt pumpkin and they will ask how you got your pumpkin pie to taste so good. Now i know what to do with the one hundred butternut squash my garden is producing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirls8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
really good and different! as recommanded, I used more of everything in the recipee. and for a sweetier taste, I used a graham crust pie. miam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
If I could give this recipe six stars, I would! Followed recipe exactly as written and it is perfect. No modifications needed! EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Very good pie. Not really as time consuming as I had expected. My picky future father in law even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chartier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Love it.. the best "pumpkin' pie I ever ate. I did up the spices, 2x cinnamon, a few good shakes of ginger, a few shakes of apple pie spice just WHAT I HAD ON HAND and the recipe needs to be tripled to give 2 nice size pies. Also, I used a potato peeler to peel the whole squash. Made that part really easy. I already polished off my last piece. Thank goodness I sent the other one home with my mother or I would sticking a knife in it right now.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by RoseWren
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I was very happy with the outcome of this recipe. It definitely tasted like pumpkin pie but a little sweeter, a little creamier and much lighter. I did alter the recipe a little as suggested in other reviews (thanks katie_luvs2bake!) *2 3/4 cups peeled/cubed butternut squash, 1 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 tbsp cornstarch, 2 eggs, 1 tbsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp each ginger and nutmeg, 1/8 tsp each cloves and all spice* Made more filling and added more flavor and spice. I thought it was very delicious and the family agreed too! I also used the Butter Flaky Pie Crust recipe for this pie. Perfect addition! Can't wait until next Thanksgiving to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseWren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
made this last year and my family and friends didn't even know it wasn't made with pumpkin. They didn't know the difference between the pumpkin and the butternut squach. Making again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rex, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I'm rating this 4 stars as is because I didn't alter the spices but they could use some tweaking. I made 1 1/2 the amount of filling based on previous reviews. It was more than I could fit in the pie shell but I think as is, the recipe would not have made enough filling. The spices in the pie are very subtle. I would double them all next time. I also had to cook the pie 1 hour and 10 minutes. It definitely tastes like pumpkin pie, no one would ever know the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Lewiston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States