Better Than Brad Pitt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I tried it 2 weeks ago following the exact recipe, but today I made it with white cake mix, sweetened chopped strawberries, vanilla pudding cups (2), and cool whip. I topped it off with toasted sliced almonds. Oh boy. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Awesome cake! Using fresh whipped cream totally makes this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taradowdy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manasquan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Ohhhh we love this cake DO NOT change anything it's great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi’s Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartselle, Alabama, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Excellant! A delicious change from the usual chocolate versions. Since finding this recipe I have made it numerous times for assorted potluck situations and always with rave reviews. Great with pineapple, lemon, or butter cake and pudding variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Baker, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I thought this was good, but not great. A little too sweet, I think I would've preferred draining the pineapple and just spreading it straight over without the step where you add sugar and cook it. That's just me though, everyone else really liked this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
UPDATE: MY HUBS AND I STOPPED BY MY PARENTS HOUSE TODAY TO PICK UP THE BAKING DISH I SENT THEM HOME WITH (I.E. THE ONE I USED FOR THIS CAKE). WE ARRIVED RIGHT AS THEY WERE FINISHING DINNER, SO I HAD A PIECE OF LEFTOVER CAKE WTIH THEM. NOT ONLY DID I FALL IN LOVE WITH THIS, I LEARNED AN IMPORTANT LESSON.... THIS CAKE IS 100 X'S BETTER IF ALLOWED TO SET FOR AT LEAST 24 HOURS (OR MORE!) AND PREPARED AS IS (NO MODS NECESSARY)!!! I'M NOT SURE WHY, BUT TRUST ME, A NIGHT IN THE FRIDGE IS KEY. :) Not bad. My hubs and I treated my parents to a belated father's day dinner out. I made this cake to cap off our hearty Italian meal. Although I liked this (my hubs not so much - he isn't fond of any dessert other than chcolate cake lol), my parents were MUCH bigger fans that I was. I think I would have enjoyed this quite a bit more WITHOUT the pudding and if the pineapple were mixed in with the whipped topping. Don't get me wrong.... This was good, it was just a smidgin over the top for me. NOTE #1: Instead of making a syrup out of pineapple and sugar, just warm up a 20 oz. can of crushed pineapple in heavy syrup (it's pretty much the same thing and involves less work!). NOTE #2: It is perfectly fine to substitute prepared Cool-Whip rather than making your own. Yes, homemade is prolly better, but it's OK to cheat (and no one will know the difference). Thanks for sharing your recipe, Star. Since my parents really enjoyed this so they will be eating the leftovers all week. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
eh, just ok. Never better than Brad! alot of work of just a fair dessert cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
What comes from my kitchen is not normally praised. But I made this cake for the Sunday dinner finale......and boy did it make an impact. My parents came over after church and they, along with my husband, said it was the best dessert they had EVER had. What a compliment. Thanks for an easy recipe that even I could follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
OMGG!!...Oh my gosh goodness..unbelievably great! Can't wait to try this recipe with chocolate cake, chocolate pudding and cherries. This one is not to sugary sweety, but full of delightful flavors. As others raters said, don't skip on the coconut..it really adds that something with a mouth wanting more feeling. Being I haven't had Brad Pitt either, I am calling it Oscar (awards) Cake, cause that's when I found the recipe, or Better than Yo' Mama's cake, cause I have never had anything this yummy. Both my husband and Father in law loved it...wanted more and more and want to know when the next special awards are : ) I'm thinking a wonderful Easter Day treat with fresh strawberries on top. Wonderful recipe..thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ephrata, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This is an awesome cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States