Better Than Best Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is a good recipe. I was surprised by messy it was but since I read the reviews I know how to work it. It did not have as much flavor as I thought it would using the soup, I will add more spices to the dry mix next time (yes there will be a next time!). Another comment: it does not take 15 min prep time and will not be ready to eat in 45 min. If you let the chicken sit til it's doughy it will take at least an hour for that to happen. Also, I pan fried it and feel it would be better if deep fried. May sound like I don't like it but I really do. As the Englishman said "Well Done Candy!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lorrie
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I really liked this chicken but I did make changes. I used sour milk instead of the soup (1c milk and 1tbp vinager), 1/2c flour, 1/2c corn starch, 1 egg, salt and pep to taste, 2tbp season salt, 1tbs poultry season, 1ts garlic, and 1tsp paprika, mix together and add chicken let stand 1 hr. in fridg. I used 1 cup flour added salt and pep, then rolled the chicken in the flour before I fried it. Was super crispy and tasted great. Being from the south old habits die hard, crispy well seasoned fried chicken is a must for me. Thanks for the recipe I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Nottingham, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Delicious chicken breast recipe!!! I made this for my kids and they enjoyed every bite of it. I added Cajun season in addition to seasoning salt and served it with macaroni salad and baked beans. After reading other reviews, next time I will use chicken thighs and drumstick. Thanks Candy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Pretty good recipe I just made this tonight the breading tastes really good! I thought the meat needed to be marinated though. Really good recipe! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Simply delicious !!! Easy and extremely tasty. A little more work than the regular fry job but well worth it. I made gravy out of the drippings and poured on top and it was out of this world !!! Will make again often !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I've had chicken prepared many different ways. But when I tried this recipe, I was amazed at how crispy and juicy it came out. Instead of chicken breasts though, I used cut up leg quarters and it was delicious. The only real work was in skinning the chicken. Great recipe! I don't have to go to the corner restaurant anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
We followed the recipe exactly.. waited till it was doughy and cooked it for 7 minutes. Not crunchy at all, in fact hardly any of it stuck to the chicken. Im very disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
The kids loved it (so if you're making for kids I'd give it 5 stars!) But I found it bland, even after following advice of super spicing. But I give it 4 because the crust texture was fabulous and the chicken (tenders and boneless thighs) was very juicy - just as promised. I never was able to make fried chicken because I burned it or the batter fell off, but now I can! Will use batter to coat veggies, etc. I'll just have to play with the spices. Oh, and I used cream of mushroom soup, onion powder, garlic powder, poultry seasoning, paprika, pepper and parsley. I think the leftovers will be really good heated up to top a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Budsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was the best fried chicken I have made to date. Used legs and thighs rather than breasts and added 1 can of buttermilk to the soup. Couple of changes for next time. Legs take about 8 - 9 minutes to cook and thighs 11 - 12 minutes. Needs way more spice for the seasoning. I doubled the flour and corn starch. I put in 1 tablespoon of kosher salt, 2 tsp garlic powder and 1 tsp of cayenne pepper along with about 80 grind of fresh black pepper. Still could have used more spices and maybe salt and pepper the pieces after coming out of the oil. Kept the oil at 350 - 375 degrees and kept warm in 200 degree oven on baking pan with cooling rack inserted. Leftovers stored well in the fridge and just popped them in a 350 degree oven while the oven came to temperature to reheat. They were just as crispy as if I had made them that day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I don't know where the 10 minute cook time came from! I fried the first batch for about 30 minutes and it was still pink in the center. I'm baking the rest and will try to "flash fry" after they're cooked. I'm agreeing with the rest of the group, too... needs way more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States