Better Slow Cooker Robust Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
My family did not care for this recipe. In my opinion it was not a very good combination of ingredients. We tried to wipe the sauce off of the chicken but even that did not help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
I always follow the recipe frist time around. Next time I will NOT put the chicken in for the full 6 hours. Strips of chicken cooking for 6 hours (especially breast meat) come out like sawdust. Next time, they go in for the last hour. Sauce has great flavor, I served over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
I made a few changes to this recipe and I was so happy with the results, the most important one was thickening the gravy which I thought was too thin by adding cornstarch and water and turning the crock pot on high for a few minutes after the dish was cooked. I used whole chicken breasts instead of cut into strips and they came out so tender. Also nixed the bacon bits. It was VERY delicious, healthy and hearty. I used a little less vinegar than the recipe called for and chose a quality balsamic vinegar. Served over rice, magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZYSPINELLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington Station, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
If you like pickled things, you will like this recipe. As for me and my family... yuck! And yes I followed the recipe exactly. I love things cooked in wine especially red wine, but I think the vinegar and green olives were over the top for me. I shall try some other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
My family loved this recipe. It is very rich and flavorful. I also made several minor adjustments to the recipe, only because I did not have the listed ingredients. I used white wine instead of red, and brown gravy mix instead of chicken. It was still excellent, but next time I will make it according to the original recipe. I did not find the balsamic vinegar to be too strong, and the green olives gave it a great zip. If you want to leave out the vinegar and olives, you might as well just find a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
I was just wondering, if someone changes the recipe, by REMOVING four of the ingredients, and then adding an ingredient that is NOT on the recipe, how can there be a bad rating? THAT was not the recipe listed. Maybe people would like it if they followed the recipe. I do not know the person who created this recipe, I was just searching for one. And SO many times I see bad reviews, on the recipe but it had been 'adjusted'. They just gave their OWN cooking a bad review, right? (Opening a can of worms, Hmmm?) Sorry, just my 2 cents
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
337 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMPCHEFCLAUDINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Matamoras, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
I did not use all the ingredients listed, because my family does not care for them. I left out the bacon bits, mushrooms and olives. Also, instead of using the balsamic vinegar (since other peoples' review mentioned they did not like the flavor), I simply used the liquid from the canned tomatoes instead; added the can undrained. Also, a short while before serving, I added about 2 tablespoons of sour cream to it to thicken it up and get a creamier flavor. We served the chicken and sauce over noodles. It had a pretty good flavor, but picky eaters probably wouldn't enjoy it. I'll probably make it again occassionally, but will probably play around with the ingredients to get a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAHAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
It is an OK dish. Very easy to make – chicken is really tender and full of flavor. It was not the most delicious meal, but it was good enough for a family dinner. I did not use any vine and substituted balsamic vinegar with balsamic vinaigrette salad dressing. Taking in consideration other reviews I also added sugar and added only ½ of green olives. I would probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
My family liked this dish. I added some sugar to cut the tartness, this worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
This is really very good. I only used half of the vinegar. The more that I tasted the better I liked it. I will make this again. Joy Priest/Ohio
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States