Better Slow Cooker Robust Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
My family did not care for this recipe. In my opinion it was not a very good combination of ingredients. We tried to wipe the sauce off of the chicken but even that did not help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
I always follow the recipe frist time around. Next time I will NOT put the chicken in for the full 6 hours. Strips of chicken cooking for 6 hours (especially breast meat) come out like sawdust. Next time, they go in for the last hour. Sauce has great flavor, I served over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
I made a few changes to this recipe and I was so happy with the results, the most important one was thickening the gravy which I thought was too thin by adding cornstarch and water and turning the crock pot on high for a few minutes after the dish was cooked. I used whole chicken breasts instead of cut into strips and they came out so tender. Also nixed the bacon bits. It was VERY delicious, healthy and hearty. I used a little less vinegar than the recipe called for and chose a quality balsamic vinegar. Served over rice, magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZYSPINELLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington Station, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
If you like pickled things, you will like this recipe. As for me and my family... yuck! And yes I followed the recipe exactly. I love things cooked in wine especially red wine, but I think the vinegar and green olives were over the top for me. I shall try some other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
My family loved this recipe. It is very rich and flavorful. I also made several minor adjustments to the recipe, only because I did not have the listed ingredients. I used white wine instead of red, and brown gravy mix instead of chicken. It was still excellent, but next time I will make it according to the original recipe. I did not find the balsamic vinegar to be too strong, and the green olives gave it a great zip. If you want to leave out the vinegar and olives, you might as well just find a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
I was just wondering, if someone changes the recipe, by REMOVING four of the ingredients, and then adding an ingredient that is NOT on the recipe, how can there be a bad rating? THAT was not the recipe listed. Maybe people would like it if they followed the recipe. I do not know the person who created this recipe, I was just searching for one. And SO many times I see bad reviews, on the recipe but it had been 'adjusted'. They just gave their OWN cooking a bad review, right? (Opening a can of worms, Hmmm?) Sorry, just my 2 cents
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
327 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMPCHEFCLAUDINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Matamoras, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
I did not use all the ingredients listed, because my family does not care for them. I left out the bacon bits, mushrooms and olives. Also, instead of using the balsamic vinegar (since other peoples' review mentioned they did not like the flavor), I simply used the liquid from the canned tomatoes instead; added the can undrained. Also, a short while before serving, I added about 2 tablespoons of sour cream to it to thicken it up and get a creamier flavor. We served the chicken and sauce over noodles. It had a pretty good flavor, but picky eaters probably wouldn't enjoy it. I'll probably make it again occassionally, but will probably play around with the ingredients to get a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAHAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
It is an OK dish. Very easy to make – chicken is really tender and full of flavor. It was not the most delicious meal, but it was good enough for a family dinner. I did not use any vine and substituted balsamic vinegar with balsamic vinaigrette salad dressing. Taking in consideration other reviews I also added sugar and added only ½ of green olives. I would probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
My family liked this dish. I added some sugar to cut the tartness, this worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
This is really very good. I only used half of the vinegar. The more that I tasted the better I liked it. I will make this again. Joy Priest/Ohio
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States