Better Slow Cooker Robust Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Sorry to give it a bad review, but I want to warn others that the combination of mustard, worcestershire and wine make for a very sour chicken dish that might not be to some people's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fadano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I tried this recipe after my friend recommended it. Now my husband and daughter (whose under 2) both enjoyed it, but I thought that the wine and balsamic vinegar were really overpowering. I agree with another reviewer that I would leave the bacon bits out and use as a garnish; possibly saute the chicken in some of the bacon fat with some herbs before tossing it in the crock pot. So I'm going to play around with this recipe until I like it as well...maybe change the wine used or use white balsamic vinegar instead of red? Thank you Kimber for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It was way too sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mostlyprobably
Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I'm smiling as I write this! I found this recipe and noted the varying reviews, including the submitter's description of it as a dish that blended good flavors. So, I had to do the experiment. I made it and cooked it exactly as written and made no comment to my guests (who are accustomed to trying new recipes and are very open to new flavor blends.) I was reminded that everyone seems to have a different "taster" gene! One thought it was OK but not good enough to eat again. One(a man)thought it was fermented tasting and horribly inedible. One liked it enough to take the leftovers home (she called and said she thought it was much better after she added chicken broth and some herbs to dilute some of the tang.) I think it would have been much better without the wine. Nevertheless, the person who submitted it probably got it from someone else who apparently thought it was good and a few others here agreed while some disagreed. I wonder if our vision and hearing are as individualized as our tasting and we just don't realize it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I only used 1 tablespoon each of dijon mustard and balsamic vinegar because I was worried the taste would come out too bitter after cooking for so long. I also used boneless skinless chicken thighs (trimmed of all fat) because I think chicken breasts tend to dry out in the slow cooker and lose the chicken-y flavor. Otherwise I added everything as written in the recipe. Unlike some of the other reviews, we didn't think it was too salty at all, and javascript:__doPostBack('ctl00$ContentPlaceholder$edit$saveButton','')we really liked the taste of the olives - it was a good compliment to the other flavors. Pour over egg noodles or garlic mashed potatoes and serve with a simple green salad for a complete meal! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This recipe was really good!!! I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane  Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This is an excellent one pot dish, with everything just going straight in the slow cooker for speed and ease. At the suggestion of another reviewer I rinsed the olives and placed a cut potato in the mix. Not a salty sauce at all. I did not have soup mix so made up 1/2 pint of chicken stock (did this for 3 people). I also had peppers rather than mushrooms and for the last half hour I included rice to mix in with it. This did take some of the lovely sauce away so next time I would cook this seperately. I think the only other thing I would change would be to get diced/chopped tomatoes that have italian style herbs already mixed in for added flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Remove the olives altogether. I love olives but this is WAY too much. It will fill your house with an acrid fog for the whole day and by dinner time you will not look forward to opening that slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This was easy to make but turned out to be fairly bitter. Would not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Red wine, balsamic vinegar and Dijon mustard is a bad combination (especially with the olives). I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States