Better Peanut Butter Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bearclaire
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I found myself using applesauce with cinnamon on top as a dip for the sandwich. To get the correct applesauce to peanut butter ratio, the dipping was needed. Apple sauce sandwich au jous? This would be good for kids and it was a nice change from my typical peanut butter/banana, which usually fills me up a little too much. I used Ezekiel bread, which tends to stay very crunchy when toasted and prevented any sogginess from the apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bearclaire

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I have not eaten this combination as a sandwich, but for years my husband and I have made toast with peanut butter and applesauce(that is cold from the refrigerator). Cinnamon applesauce, I might add! It is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I am 66 and have been eating this all of my life.. When I was a kid and was sick my Mom would grill a crunchy PB and mayo sandwich on plain ole white bread and serve it with a glass of icy cold milk. Today whenever I make one I want to put on my flannel jammies and wool socks so I can have this extreme comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I really loved this sandwich! It was really early in the morning, so I couldn't COOK anything, as I'd wake everyone. I was also craving something I couldn't place my finger on. When I came upon this recipe I had to try it! Though I used natural peanut butter, natural apple sauce, and whole grain bread. I loved it, it was exactly what I wanted! Especially since I don't like regular jelly with peanut butter. Definitely a sandwich I will be making in the future, it's a great tasting sandwich that can be good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I've used both cinnamon and regular applesuace for these, but the cinnamon is better. I wasn't sure if I would like this, but it's a new favorite now and makes a quick lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Always a favorite in our family! We have used peanut butter and applesauce on sandwiches for years...as well as on pancakes and waffles. Best toasted and thicker bread....and does help on toast to kinda mix pb and applesauce together so it doesn't run off...as it is slippery. But so very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gorbino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Palestine, Ohio, USA
Living In: Temple City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Wow! So simple and so good. Tried it on the kids (preschoolers) today and they loved it. We did spread a little honey on the bread first and mixed the PB and applesauce together to keep it from seeping into the bread. This will be on my list of quick and easy meals for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DISCOJUL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I really like peanut butter and honey together. It's a honey-nut sandwich. :) I also like this with a pat of salted butter and a sprinkle of cinnamon. I know it sounds nuts, but it's really good, as well as it "loosens" up the peanut butter a bit and it makes it more "spread like" or easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kris(py)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was good, but I prefer classic PB&J sandwiches. After reading other reviews, I mixed the applesauce with the peanut butter ahead of time, then took the extra precaution of lightly toasting the bread to keep the applesauce from making the bread soggy. After mixing with the peanut butter, it would've been fine on untoasted. I used honey wheat, which is sturdier than your average white bread. If you'd like a less sweet PB&J sandwich, this is definitely what you're looking for. Glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
One of my favorites. I suggest using Dave's Killer bread, toasting your bread, use either natural peanut butter or almond butter and either homemade or organic cinnamon applesauce. This is both my kids' and my favorite. Great breakfast food to jumpstart your day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States