Better Cheddar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I used panko bread crumbs instead of cornflakes. I used low fat mayo instead of butter to cut calories. This was easy and better than fried chicken with less mess. The cayenne pepper gave it a great kick. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Incredibly effortless, yet extremely flavorful. I added a bit more Creole seasoning and cayenne pepper, it had a really nice kick to it, and was very crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Delicious! I did make a couple changes though based on what I had on hand. I did not have any cornflakes and could not get to the store, so I used crushed cheez-it crackers (the cheddar/parmesan duo variety). Also, I used only half the amount of butter and 1 egg white. Overall, the chicken was a bit salty, but I think that was because I used the crackers instead of cornflakes. If I did it the same way again, I would omit the garlic salt and replace it with garlic powder. I also cooked it on a rack placed on top of a baking sheet so the bottom would not get soggy. It worked pretty well. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALLI1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Enjoyed this! Lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
My husband and I think these are great. I did make one change however as I didn't have any corn flakes, so I crumbled up Ritz Crackers in place of the corn flakes and it came out so yummy. The bottom of the chicken (even though I flipped it half way through) was a little mushy but the top stayed crunchy. I have made these a few times since first trying this. I may one day try it with the corn flakes, but I was so happy with the Ritz that I may not. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
this was great! BUT i had to give it four stars because it needed a salt modification. the creole seasoning i had on hand already has sodium, so the pair of it and the garlic salt was FAR too much. it was great but about three bites in we were all reaching for our waters. next time i will swap garlic salt for garlic powder and still use the toni chachere's creole mix since its what we have on hand. :). good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by areid1023

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Definitely a keeper. I used the bread crumbs instead of corn flakes and olive oil instead of butter. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Designer Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I thought this was good, but my fiance said it was 'awesome', so 5 stars it is! The only thing I changed was to use leg quarters instead of breasts. Great flavor and crunch and the meat was very moist. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I often try to keep to the original recipe as much as possible, as I immensely dislike those who massacre the original ingredients and then give it a horrible rating. In my case I did not have the cornflakes, so I did the next best that I could do and used Special K cereal instead. I really am not a fan of too much salt, so I did swap the salt for garlic powder. When it said creole seasoning, I figured I could used Bayou blast by Emeril. The only thing I probably missed was on the cheddar, I sprinkled it on top...this was tasty and I can't wait to make it again! I put a quick meal together by using a fettucini alfredo noodle packet then added in some bayou blast to give it a cajun kick, I served it w/ veggies and garlic bread. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Followed 'Jason's suggestion and substituted italian bread crumbs for cornflakes, also put garlic in the butter. PHENOMENAL!! Family raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

See how to make a simple, top-rated baked chicken recipe.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

How to Grill Chicken Better

Get tips for prepping and grilling crusty, juicy chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States