Better Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
It was gorgeous, an authentic chocolate brownie taste, and springy sponge- you could also use as a cake! I made a slight alteration, and used about 2/3 cup of sugar and 1/3 sweetener. It was lovely and to be honest, nobody guessed it was vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mama Sprinkles
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Pretty good. I modified a bit, but original isn't bad either. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Sprinkles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This recipe was quick and easy, but that's about it. Wasn't very tasty and certainly did not resemble brownies. Might be good for vegans, but I would assume there are better vegan brownies out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Yum! I omitted the stevia powder and replaced half the oil with unsweetened applesauce. I baked them in deep 8" pie plate and baked until a toothpick stuck in the center came out with just a bit of batter on it (my thought is that the trick to making these taste their best is to underbake by just a smidge). I cut into triangles, drizzled melted dark chocolate on top, and sprinkled with cinnamon. Very dense and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This is a very good recipe, I omitted the stevia powder because I had none to use. I used almond milk instead of soy and sunflower oil instead of vegetable. Other than that this produced a rich, chocolatey, moist brownie that stood well covered on the counter. My husband loved them. Will make this often, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Great recipe. But, it should be clarified that white sugar is NOT vegan. White sugar is refined with animal bone char. So, for the recipe to be called vegan, it should call for unrefined sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Perfect for that time of month when you NEED brownies but don't have any brownie mix. I had everything I needed in my pantry. I used 2% instead of soy as that is all I had. As suggested, I left out the stevia and it was sweet enough for me. Some people might find it a little bitter, but I love dark bittersweet chocolate. All in all, very good recipe when you need to make brownies in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Delicious...and I even added peanut butter! Will definitely keep handy. Substituted Splenda for stevia powder and sugar and it turned out great! Less guilt, and curbs the craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
What type of stevia powder do you use? It must be 90% fillers. With Trader Joe's stevia powder, 1/8 teaspoon sweetens a gallon of sun tea and I've never used more than 1/4 teaspoon in any baked item I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Fear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Wonderful emergency brownie recipe.... few ingredients that are always in the pantry! Thank you :-) [omitted the stevia and they were sweet enough]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States