Better Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
This recipe is probably wonderful as written, but I don't eat pork, so I did alter it a bit. I used vegetarian beans and omitted the bacon. Also used pure maple syrup instead of pancake syrup because that's what I had on hand. Tossed in a few chopped, fresh serrano peppers as we like things a bit spicy. The beans were a hit even with the carnivores! Nothing leftover. Will definitely make agin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Great recipe. I added a little chopped bell pepper and cut the bacon into smaller pieces before putting on top. Cooked about 5 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
The flavor is right, but you can't expect bacon to brown that way...I broiled it at the end to try and get it cooked through more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I've been making this same recipe for years. I believe it is in the original Angels and Friends Recipe book. When I bring it to my family's Fourth of July picnic I have to triple the recipe. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Excellent! Easy to make and has an excellent taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
These were good beans. Maybe a bit ketchup-y but a lot of people like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Very delicious and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carleighsmama

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
These were quite tasty. I made these for a party and everyone liked them. I threw all the ingredients in my crock pot and cooked it for 2 hours on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
These were great! I used molasses instead of the pancake syrup because that is the way my mom used to make them. Thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Very simple and easy to prepare! I used Bush's Baked Beans as my base and swapped out the pancake syrup for some molasses. This is a great "semi-homemade" recipe and a great way to perk up a regular 'ol can of baked beans in essence making them "Better Baked Beans"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States