Betsy's Poppy Seed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
We've been making this for years, and love this recipe! We leave off the butter, and it does not affect the taste. I also add 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder and 1/2 of onion powder. The recipe doesn't specify this, but the sour cream should be 8 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
A store-bought rotisserie chicken works wonderfully well in this recipe too. GREAT flavor & saves time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This dish always turns out wonderful! We like to add frozen vegatables to the mix. Just enough so that the sauce still covers everything when you put it in the pan. Smells so good--my husband loves this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Definately a keeper! It almost tasted like pot pie. I used fat free sour cream and added frozen broccoli, garlic powder, and a little pepper. Also, I just boiled the chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
I changed this quite a bit because I wasn't sure how it would taste without adding a little more flavor. I added some milk and wine to the sauce... sauteed the chicken breasts with onions, celery, garlic, and mushrooms (then added them to the sauce)...added some salt and pepper...used garlic ritz crackers, etc. All in all, it was pretty good, and easy....after all, it is canned soup. :) Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is a favorite in our family. I have made it numerous times, always with superb results. The crunchy poppy seeds and the cracker topping make this a real winner. So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
The calories are from the soup... but you can get 98% Fat Free cream of whatever soups, and that really helps to cut down the cals... :) Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Sutliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Castle, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This is really good and easy. My husband & daughter request it quite often. I follow the recipe exactly. I do season the chicken with salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen S.
Home Town: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Although this recipe was alright, it really wasn't very good... it could have used HALF the crackers on top. They overpowered everything else, and it ended up being really dry tasting. I use to have the best poppy seed chicken recipe, but I don't know what I did with it! Guess I'll just keep looking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elyseholly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
YUM! The only thing i really changed was adding the poppyseeds to the chicken mixture and i used a roaster chicken instead so i didnt cook the meat in a skillet. I like to freeze it then without the crumbs and just add them when im ready to put it in the oven and bake..:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by efuagwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manheim, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Watch how to make breaded chicken with lemon-butter and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States