Betsy's Mandarin Orange Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Awesome Salad! I did add/ change it a bit to suit my liking. I made it equal parts oil/vinegar and reduced it to 1/4 c. This kept all of the flavor and just made it less oily. Make sure you constantly stir those almonds and as soon as they are slightly brown, get them out... they can burn quickly. I recommend spraying a small dish with cooking spray to pour the almonds on and allow to cool before breaking up, otherwise, the sugar makes them stick to the surface. Recommend using 1/2 red onion- a whole onion just seems to be too much. I also added dried cranberries and used bagged green romaine lettuce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rach747

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Excellent taste! Recommendations: add a teaspoon or two of the orange juice from the can into the almonds when you put them in the pan. Cook on low heat and stir often for 5-8 minutes, cool quickly when they brown; they come out wonderful! I make extra to snack on later because they are THAT good! Another thing I do is soak the chopped onions first, as it reduces the OVER-ONIONED flavor and throw the entire dressing (along with the pre-soaked and drained onions) into the blender. The dressing comes out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorklyn, Delaware, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
This is one of the best salads I've tried on this site-I loved it as did my husband. Surprisingly, I loved the almonds and I typically hate them. I didn't add the celery (personal preference), used green lettuce rather than red, and halved the entire recipe. As most salads of this sort (in my opinion), it doesn't necessarily keep very well so don't toss the dressing until you're almost ready to serve. Wonderful! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
this is great...so easy and always a hit...i add 1/4 c oil instead of 1/2c
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This salad was very good - I will definitely make again. I took some of the suggestions from other reviews. Short cuts like using 2 bags of prepared salad, only 1/4 cup veg oil in the dressing, & bagged seasoned almond slices. I also added craisins and some crunchy chow mein noodles. My friends were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I wish I could give this recipe 10 stars. Before my bank's Christmas dinner was over I knew that I would be passing this recipe on to my fellow co-workers. It has become a favorite for my family and it is now the requested item for me to take to family functions. Hint-I always make the dressing up the day before and to make this quick and easy I use 2 bags of the prepared romaine lettuce. Thanks Betsy for making this one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrodsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
Made this for a dinner party and all the guests really loved it. I knew it tasted good when someone elses husband commented on it! My husband ate the leftovers for lunch the next day and my husband doesn't eat salad! This recipe was very easy. I prepared the dressing and the nuts in the morning and chopped the celery and onions and put them in the refrigerator. All that was left was to put everything in a bowl and toss just before dinner. The salad looks very professional too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
Very, very delicious salad that I made just for me today. After my daughters' prom Friday night, the kids returned home and told me that the food was just so-so, but the salad was GROSS! When I asked them about the salad, they all informed me that "they" had the nerve to put oranges in their salad along with a sweet dressing. Sounded awfully good to me so I went asearchin' for something similar. Glad I found it Doreen and it was anything BUT gross! Hey, what do kids know....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This is a wonderful salad, esp. for winter. The dressing is a wonderful blend that is so tasty and compliments the fruit perfectly. I made a few changes, but nothing that affects the salad. I used toasted blanched olives, a mix of romaine and baby spinach, added cranraisins, extra oranges, and soaked the onions in water for an hour and then drained them (this helps to take the bite out of the onions.) Just a wonderful salad. Thanks Doreen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
This was an easy and delicious. I've read other orange salad recipes and one instructed that the onions be soaked in water for an hour and then drained. I may try this next time, to give the onions a milder flavor. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUESKYCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States