Betsy's Mandarin Orange Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This is delicious!!! I love the tangy-sweet dressing with the soft manderine oranges and crunchy celery. I made 1/2 the dressing recipe and only used about 2-3 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil. (for the reviewer asking about what to do with the purple onion - I sliced it thinly and put it in the salad, not the dressing. The color combination of this salad is fantastic. I used 2 frozen cubes of hopped parsley and love how it adds bright green speckles to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin' Mom
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Great recipe. For the dressing though, I only use 2 T vinegar, 1 T parsley, 1/4 cup oil, 1/2 t salt, pepper, and 1 T Splenda. It cuts down on the calories and oil a bit. I don't use the celery either. Works out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Question: The recipe doesn't say what to do with the onion. Does it go in the dressing or on the salad? This salad has so many good reviews, I can't wait to make it. But I want it to be just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
What a delicious recipe! A nice change for a salad. I will make this recipe for my next party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Fabulous! I saved a step and just added slivered almonds from the store, the flavored kind. I also added about one tablespoon of the juice from the canned mandarin oranges to the dressing. I also added some craisins ('cause I love 'em!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by caitlinleah
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
everyone is right- i made it with less oily dressing (using fresh parsley) and less onion (i actually used scallions) and i doubled the almonds, and i substituted avocado for the peppers (which my gf doesn't like). and OH! it was SO GOOD! the combo of the oranges, onions, almonds and avocado was a taste sensation! highly recomended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caitlinleah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Wonderful flavor, we really enjoyed this recipe. My sister-in-law was so impressed that I "candied" my own almonds, and it wasn't even hard to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthy Stapleton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I was so excited to try this salad, but was disappointed because I didn't really think the dressing matched the concept of a mandarin orange salad. I would have thought it would have more of an asian flavor. I would recommend the following: -you only need about 2 tbsp. of onion and make sure you mince very fine and put into the actual dressing -add chow mein noodles -add sesame seeds -change the dressing - I would recommmend trying an asian sesame dressing. I am going to try that next time to see if it tastes better. I hear Good Seasons has an Asian Sesame that you just have to add the vinegar, oil and water to. I've looked all around and most stores don't carry it, but it is available online for purchase. Keep in mind...what I was going after was a salad similar the Oriental Chicken Salad at Friendly's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This salad has potential, but we didn't like the flavors together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Not bad. It is a good base recipe. The salad itself was excellent. I was not a huge fan of the dressing. I think there is something about dried parsley that I'm not that crazy about. I made it for company, however, and they LOVED it. I would consider substituting poppy seeds for the parsley or using fresh parsley next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Ryskamp Wightman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States